Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Very yummy. I used half and half, and added a jalapeno pepper...spicy, but very light--a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Yum. I liked it and definately will make it again. Low cal AND filling! Bonus right there. My only change was to use evaporated milk instead of the heavy cream and some rosemary w/ the thyme. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I just finished making this recipe and I am very pleased. It is the most delicious soup I have ever made. I accidentally bought fat-free Half & Half instead of cream and ended up being more liberal with it than I would've had I been using cream. It made for a creamy, wonderful product. Also, rosemary and tarragon are good additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This is the best soup I've ever made. I highly recommend it. I used olive oil instead of the vegetable oil, and used dry Middle Eastern thyme (mixed with sesame seed) instead of the fresh thyme. I also did not use the goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weaam

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This is a great soup, rich and creamy. Next time I will use a little less than a cup of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Wow, I am impressed! I hardly ever give reviews, but I was compelled to take the time to recommend this recipe. I have 6 kids and a husband, all of whom are hard to please at one time or another. Everyone loved this soup! I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor and my family's willingness and even eagerness to eat it and to have seconds. I won't change a thing in this recipe and will use it each fall as eggplants come into season. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This soup is a great way to use up extra vegetables. I spiced it up a little by adding a few dashes of paprika, pepper and red chili pepper. I substituted dry thyme during cooking for fresh thyme and condensed milk for cream and it still came out terrific. I also added a roasted red pepper. Super autumn soup-creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Excellent recipe once my fiance and I got it right. Make sure you use fresh thyme. Otherwise you'll be left with hard little pieces in your soup. Also make sure you leave the lid off when simmering to thicken the soup. We didn't do that the first time and the soup was too runny for us. We substited vegetable broth for all of the chicken broth, but I'm sure it would work well either way. Glad we stuck with the recipe as now it is one of our favorites and I'm going to use if for my cooking class final. Thank you Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This recipe was fabulous. I made it in Spain for some of my English friends and although there was two more courses to go, they requested seconds and thirds. If you like a diffent soup, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This has got to be one of the best soups I've ever made. Everyone loved it. Looks very elegant at a formal dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosieCooks

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States