Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
The second time I made this was Sept. 11. I wanted something comforting and we had a bounty of eggplant and tomatoes in our garden. My husband was a manager of a 5 star restaurant, and he says it's better than the soup his celebrated chef made. I served it in italian bread bowls which is also available on allrecipe.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This was the tastiest soup I've ever made!! I ended up using milk instead of cream because I didn't have any on hand, and it still came out great. The garlic is mild but you can still taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Holy smokes, this one's a winner! I made a few changes -- used water instead of chicken broth, added a tablespoon of chopped fresh rosemary, and added a clove of pressed garlic just before serving. I used half and half instead of cream, but it was still deliciously rich. I can't wait to serve this one to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This has great flavor! I've had a similiar soup at a local gormet market and this was just as good! I read other reviews and decided to add a roasted red bell pepper 1 tsp of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Very delicious cream soup and a great new use for eggplant! I used two smallish eggplants, chicken bouillon to make the broth, 1/2 teaspoon ground thyme, and a 12 oz. can of evaporated milk to make it creamy. Next time I will brush veggies with olive oil instead of regular to see if that alters the taste... all in all, quite gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This recipe was great! I took the advice of previous reviewers and added roasted red peppers and it gave the soup a little zing! I used light cream, which worked great, but I think milk is sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This soup is FABULOUS! Being a vegetarian I just changed the chicken broth to a vegetable broth and we were good to go! I like a little stronger garlic flavor so I added a few more cloves. My fiance who really doesn't enjoy eggplant ate three bowl of it, so that certainly says a lot about the flavor of this soup! Definately adding this recipe to my 'it's a keeper' file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This has got to be one of the best soups I've ever made. Everyone loved it. Looks very elegant at a formal dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosieCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This recipe was fabulous. I made it in Spain for some of my English friends and although there was two more courses to go, they requested seconds and thirds. If you like a diffent soup, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Excellent recipe once my fiance and I got it right. Make sure you use fresh thyme. Otherwise you'll be left with hard little pieces in your soup. Also make sure you leave the lid off when simmering to thicken the soup. We didn't do that the first time and the soup was too runny for us. We substited vegetable broth for all of the chicken broth, but I'm sure it would work well either way. Glad we stuck with the recipe as now it is one of our favorites and I'm going to use if for my cooking class final. Thank you Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States