Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
After reading this in another review, I felt compelled to write that I too had soup explode all over the place when I tried to puree this in a blender. I use a blender for all my soups instead of a food processor or immersion blender (because I don't have one) and I don't know why, but this is the first one that has exploded on me. It burned my face and arms so my husband tried to help me blend the remainder and it exploded on him too. Neither of us could hold the lid on. I have no idea why it did this - as I said, I blend soups in that blender all the time, but please don't use a blender for this one. I will go out and invest in an immersion blender....soup was good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This soup was GREAT! My mom and I had never heard of an eggplant soup so I started looking for recipes. The simplicity of this recipe, coupled with the fact that I had all of the ingredients handy, drew me to this particular recipe. I made it exactly as stated, except that I added a little less than 1 Tablespoon apple cider vinegar to brighten it. I froze some to take to work at a later date, and I just hope it survives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Thanks for the great recipe! Followed the recipe exactly except used half-and-half instead of heavy cream and dried thyme instead of fresh. Goes great with some bakery bread for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISA3267
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was pretty good..I increased the eggplant to 2, and used beef broth instead of chicken (didn't have any). The taste is good, however, I guess I was thinking that the soup would be a bit chunkier. Instead it came out with the consistency of a Tomato soup. Overall, I would use this as an appetizer soup rather than a meal. It's just not enough for my family to use as a dinner soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I've made this soup 5 or 6 times now, and I just love it! True, it does taste more like a vegetable cream soup, but eggplant itself doesn't have much flavor, it just adds a nice texture. Instead of heavy cream, I use only about 1/2 cup of half and half. I also don't use near as much garlic as it calls for, otherwise that's all you'd taste! And since goat cheese is a little expensive (and hard to find?) I use crumbled feta, and it tastes fabulous! I also love the way my house smells while the veggies are roasting...mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
So yummy and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This soup is delicious! I used soy milk (just to lower the calories) and it still tasted great! I also took a rater's advice and added red bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is soooooooooo good and soooooooo easy! Great way to use eggplant without frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Giddings, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Iused 1 can of evaporated milk and about 1/2 cup feta cheese that I blended in while pureeing. My husband didn't even realise it was healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. I used half and half instead of cream and veggie broth instead of chicken broth. I felt it was missing a little something, but that could be I didn't have fresh thyme and had to use dried. Next time I'll use olive oil and fresh thyme. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States