Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by LISA3267
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was pretty good..I increased the eggplant to 2, and used beef broth instead of chicken (didn't have any). The taste is good, however, I guess I was thinking that the soup would be a bit chunkier. Instead it came out with the consistency of a Tomato soup. Overall, I would use this as an appetizer soup rather than a meal. It's just not enough for my family to use as a dinner soup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I've made this soup 5 or 6 times now, and I just love it! True, it does taste more like a vegetable cream soup, but eggplant itself doesn't have much flavor, it just adds a nice texture. Instead of heavy cream, I use only about 1/2 cup of half and half. I also don't use near as much garlic as it calls for, otherwise that's all you'd taste! And since goat cheese is a little expensive (and hard to find?) I use crumbled feta, and it tastes fabulous! I also love the way my house smells while the veggies are roasting...mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
So yummy and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This soup is delicious! I used soy milk (just to lower the calories) and it still tasted great! I also took a rater's advice and added red bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is soooooooooo good and soooooooo easy! Great way to use eggplant without frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Giddings, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Iused 1 can of evaporated milk and about 1/2 cup feta cheese that I blended in while pureeing. My husband didn't even realise it was healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I thought this was pretty good. I used half and half instead of cream and veggie broth instead of chicken broth. I felt it was missing a little something, but that could be I didn't have fresh thyme and had to use dried. Next time I'll use olive oil and fresh thyme. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made this tonight, followed the recipe exactly (using two cans of diced tomatos in place of regular) and minced garlic (in place of cloves) which I sautee'd in olive oil before adding the broth, pulp, etc. The only setback I experienced was using my blender - the mixture exploded all over my kitchen!! Even with only a small amount. I have a cheap blender that doesn't allow High or Low. Instead I strained solids out, blended them and left the rest of the broth alone. This soup is FANTASTIC. Even my finicky boyfriend slurped it down like it was Man-Chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberChristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This soup is amazing. I made it twice already. I love the goat cheese in the soup. It takes a while to make but it is easy to make - so that's not so bad. Especially, for the end result. I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDASILVA11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great recipe. Only used 1/4 cup fat free half and half and was still rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States