Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is one of my favorite soups! When I served it to my mom, she requested the recipe. If I don't have fresh thyme, I use dried Italian herbs. Sometimes I substitute milk for the cream, but it's important to remember to add it at the very end, not before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This roasted soup tastes warm and earthy. It smells amazing when roasting, too. Great low-sodium low-fat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I really like this recipe - made it twice in a week. Made as written except I substituted low sodium chix broth - which could explain why it seemed a little bland. I doctored to my tastes - 1st batch added red pepper flakes; 2nd batch added roasted red pepper. Goat cheese or gorgonzola gives a nice punch. Very easy to prep. As for blowing the top off the blender - don't fill it too much and hold the lid with a kitchen towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOFTCHELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Nice recipe and fun to make. You'll use the oven, stove, and food processor. Great the next day. Add some red pepper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juicy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Loved it...no need for the cream, either. To keep it vegan, used almond milk and it was delish. Omitted the oil, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This soup is amazing! I didn't have fresh thyme, but used dried, and added a little rosemary and red pepper flakes to give it a kick (and it did!!) I also added some chicken and chopped fresh spinach at the end, made some croutons to add to the feta garnish, and wowza! It was fantastic. I also used whole milk rather than cream and thought it was great. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Surprisingly good - thank you for giving us another way to incorporate eggplant into our diets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was delicious! I didn't have enough chicken broth so I used 2 cups of water and a little chicken bouillon plus the 2 cups of chicken broth. I also did not remove the eggplant skin and it turned out just fine! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Amazing! Thank you for this one! Also makes a good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
We always have an abundance of eggplant in our garden, and this is a great way to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States