Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
You do not need the cream!!! Save yourself some fat and leave it out, you won't miss it. If you do add it, I think 1/4 cup is plenty. I also sauteed some green and red peppers and carrots before I added the roasted veggies and broth. They added a wonderful extra layer of flavor, and I think the carrots and red pepper made the soup a much more beautiful color than the picture. All and all great recipe and use of eggplant, but the cream is just unnecessary and covers up the potential to be an amazing soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bribbanyhin2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
What a great way to use up eggplant. I did put foil over the eggplant after 30min of baking and removed the garlic. I ran the tomatoes & eggplant through a food mill then put everything in the pot(No seeds). Used fresh basil and only 2c broth. Stick blended then add 1/8tsp baking soda. This will smooth out the acidity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
It was ok...but something just wasn't right. I love the sweetness of the roasted eggplant and garlic though. The texture isn't completely smooth even after pureeing because of the eggplant seeds. I was really quite a bit better the next day. The day I made it I was thinking I wouldn't make the recipe again...but after having the left overs I'd possible give it another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was really good! The only change I made was only adding 1/2 cup heavy cream instead of a full cup. It was very satisfying! Goat cheese was good on top, but Parmesan cheese would also taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brisbane, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Really yummy! I used a bit less broth (2 cans) and I used veggie broth. I didn't have thyme so I used coriander. I also added some cayenne pepper. The eggplant takes longer to roast, next time I'll put it and the onions in first, then add the tomatoes and garlic halfway through. The goat cheese on top is so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very yummy and unique soup, easily made vegetarian by using veg broth instead of chicken. Next time I will give it an Indian slant by using curry spices instead of the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I was tasting the whole way through and it was nothing special but it all came together at the end into something really delicious. I made some slight variations: used 4 long Chinese eggplants, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, 1/2 tbsp thyme, 1/2 tbsp Italian seasoning, water instead of broth, light cream instead of heavy cream and skipped the goat cheese. I served it in rosemary breadbowls. Will definitely keep this in my winter recipe roster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This was quite good. The only change I made was to substitute plain greek yogurt for the heavy cream to reduce the fat. The yogurt seemed to complement the eggplant, garlic, and tomato flavors quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Perfection in a bowl! This tastes like fall. One thing I would suggest after pureeing, is to drain through a siv to get rid of the tomato seed.s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States