Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This was the tastiest soup I've ever made!! I ended up using milk instead of cream because I didn't have any on hand, and it still came out great. The garlic is mild but you can still taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
The second time I made this was Sept. 11. I wanted something comforting and we had a bounty of eggplant and tomatoes in our garden. My husband was a manager of a 5 star restaurant, and he says it's better than the soup his celebrated chef made. I served it in italian bread bowls which is also available on allrecipe.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
Holy smokes, this one's a winner! I made a few changes -- used water instead of chicken broth, added a tablespoon of chopped fresh rosemary, and added a clove of pressed garlic just before serving. I used half and half instead of cream, but it was still deliciously rich. I can't wait to serve this one to company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This has great flavor! I've had a similiar soup at a local gormet market and this was just as good! I read other reviews and decided to add a roasted red bell pepper 1 tsp of basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
We liked this soup pretty well, the kids only liked it a little. It has a strong taste that gets a little overwhelming after a while. I think next time I will use 1/2 and 1/2 to cut down a little on the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Very delicious cream soup and a great new use for eggplant! I used two smallish eggplants, chicken bouillon to make the broth, 1/2 teaspoon ground thyme, and a 12 oz. can of evaporated milk to make it creamy. Next time I will brush veggies with olive oil instead of regular to see if that alters the taste... all in all, quite gourmet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This recipe was great! I took the advice of previous reviewers and added roasted red peppers and it gave the soup a little zing! I used light cream, which worked great, but I think milk is sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This soup is FABULOUS! Being a vegetarian I just changed the chicken broth to a vegetable broth and we were good to go! I like a little stronger garlic flavor so I added a few more cloves. My fiance who really doesn't enjoy eggplant ate three bowl of it, so that certainly says a lot about the flavor of this soup! Definately adding this recipe to my 'it's a keeper' file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
My husband and I wanted to try something different and healthy so this sounded great! WRONG! It was bland and smelled awful! Do not try this unless you're used to eating tasteless bowls of goo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI DIANA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This has got to be one of the best soups I've ever made. Everyone loved it. Looks very elegant at a formal dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosieCooks

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States