Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was AMAZING! I followed the directions exactly. I did remove the garlic a little sooner then the rest of the veggies being roasted as they browned a little quicker. I would make this- will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was okay. I followed some other advice and used half and half instead of cream, perhaps 1/2 cup. I sprinkled feta on top instead of goat cheese, which was good. This recipe seemed to lack something, or the flavors were out of balance. Mostly what I could taste was roasted garlic. I would have liked more eggplant/tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I used 3 Asian eggplants, halved lengthwise, 3 (canned) tomatoes and 1/2 a red onion. I subbed fresh rosemary for the thyme, added chipotle chile powder and whole milk for the cream. I garnished with a sprinkle of paprika a few dots of (35%)cream and some chopped rosemary. It looked so gross cooking ("brains and guts," my 5 year old said,)but it turned out SOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
It was really yummy and certainly will be made again. I didn't use the cream at all, but rather 3T of low fat sour cream. A bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I was originally looking for a tomato bisque recipe. I found this one instead and I'm glad I did. This stands as one of my often made soups. It so good and so different. If you are a tomato soup lover....I encourage you to try it. You won't be disappointed. Even my husband who can't stand tomato soup loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Very good. I used 2% evaporated milk in place of the cream and only about 2 C broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I hate to rain on this parade, but this was so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Really enjoyed this soup altho it was very thin ---I would thicken it up next time. I did use more eggplant cause we grow the long thin ones and also 8 cloves of garlic and 1 & 1/2 cup of heavy cream. My hubby liked it with the feta cheese ---I liked it better without the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This was awesome! I love creamy soups. The only changes I made were to substitute a can of fire-roasted tomatoes and add a little curry powder. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Very good and full of flavor! Be sure to use good in season tomatos or sub with canned ones. Also watch the garlic while roasting. It will brown faster than everything else. I learned this after it was already black. I skipped the cream as I thought the soup tasted great without the exta fat and added cayenne pepper and a squeeze of lemon. This was so yummy! The goat cheese sent it over the top! A very decedant soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States