Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great recipe. Only used 1/4 cup fat free half and half and was still rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
UNBELIEVABLE!!! This soup is amazing. The richness of the flavor and the beautiful color are the perfect complements to a chilly fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
The soup was good but not worth all the work that went in to it. There can be better results with less effort. Generally the chicken broth base mixed with any vegetable and smoothed with heavy cream makes a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is spectacular, although next time I'll cut back on the cream - a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This soup was fantastic. The only issue I have with it is the name - it tastes much more like tomato than eggplant, and I even used less tomato and more eggplant than was called for. After reading the other reviews, my version used: 1.5 eggplants, 1 onion, 2 tomatoes, 1 red pepper, 1 head of garlic, and 1 jalapeno. I roasted all as directed - except the peppers, which I broiled and removed the skins - and then followed directions. I simmered w/ chicken stock and thyme for 45 min-1h, blended, added cream, and dabbed in some goat cheese. I also added some fresh basil since we have some in the garden. I would have called this "Rich and Creamy Roasted Vegetable Soup" instead (although tomato is a fruit). It seems like you could substitute many other veggies as well, and I may try adding or subbing zucchinis or mushrooms next time. I've never put eggplant in a soup before, and it was a great addition. Thanks for the great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Wonderful, just wonderful! Looks elegant, is easy to make, and has only a handful of readily available ingredients. It is perfect for fall! I made a few modifications to further simplfy the recipe... I roasted large peeled chunks of eggplant and onions, and garlic. After they were soft and brown, they were tossed into the slow cooker with a can of crushed tomatoes, seasonings, and a touch of sweetener (I use agave syrup). After cooking overnight on lowest heat, I pureed them with my immersion blender and added a bit of half & half. I tweaked the seasonings a bit and served it with Jo's Rosemary Bread (from this site) and a salad. A delicious and easy meal, gauranteed to satisfy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
We really liked this recipe. I used vegetable broth rather than chicken and maybe not quite as much eggplant as called for, as I only had the long kind on hand. It was good before adding the cream, but we did put in about 3/4 of a cup of cream after tasting. I could go either way next time. I liked it cold, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Lovely combination of flavors. To make a lighter version without diverting too much; I omitted chicken broth, cream and goat cheese. I used water, canned stewed tomatoes, a little 2% milk in the end and a sprinkle of mozzarella. This actually tasted a lot like eggplant parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was AMAZING! I followed the directions exactly. I did remove the garlic a little sooner then the rest of the veggies being roasted as they browned a little quicker. I would make this- will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This was okay. I followed some other advice and used half and half instead of cream, perhaps 1/2 cup. I sprinkled feta on top instead of goat cheese, which was good. This recipe seemed to lack something, or the flavors were out of balance. Mostly what I could taste was roasted garlic. I would have liked more eggplant/tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States