Rich and Creamy Roasted Eggplant Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This soup was pretty good. Would have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
It was good, but not great. I followed the directions exactly, but added some fresh rosemary. It's missing something....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This was very good! I followed the recipe since this was my first try. I only have one suggestion. Cook the eggplant twice as long and at 325-350 degrees. My onions were starting to burn before I felt the eggplant was soft enough. I finally fished them, the tomato & the garlic out of the pan and let the eggplant finish. I did use 2% instead of cream. 2% IS cream to us! Forgot the cheese at the end, so that will be on the left overs. All-in-all my husband and I really liked it. Thanks for sharing this! Eggplant soup was a new one to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I doubled this recipe, using two eggplant but instead of six tomatoes I just used four. I halved the heavy cream and used skim milk to make up the difference. Added a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes and cayenne for some heat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This soup is amazing. I used whipping cream instead of heavy cream and it came out fantastic. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinbaird
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great soup. I did do some changes to the recipe. I added a red pepper and carrots to the roast mixture . Instead of cream I added skim milk and used grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pilot Butte, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is a good and interesting soup. I made this for my father and he doesn`t care for goat cheese, so I omitted it, but I would definitely use goat cheese in this soup. I used water instead of chicken broth and added rosemary and basil too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love this soup! Who knew eggplant could taste so good?! I have to admit the appearance of this soup is not so appealing, but one taste will convince you! My soup was rather thin, so after my first taste, I added some red lentils, which thickened it nicely and complimented the flavors well. Reheated well in microwave for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
You do not need the cream!!! Save yourself some fat and leave it out, you won't miss it. If you do add it, I think 1/4 cup is plenty. I also sauteed some green and red peppers and carrots before I added the roasted veggies and broth. They added a wonderful extra layer of flavor, and I think the carrots and red pepper made the soup a much more beautiful color than the picture. All and all great recipe and use of eggplant, but the cream is just unnecessary and covers up the potential to be an amazing soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bribbanyhin2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
What a great way to use up eggplant. I did put foil over the eggplant after 30min of baking and removed the garlic. I ran the tomatoes & eggplant through a food mill then put everything in the pot(No seeds). Used fresh basil and only 2c broth. Stick blended then add 1/8tsp baking soda. This will smooth out the acidity
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States