Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Loved how fast and easy this dish was. I did cut the cream and used half and half and came out great. I also ran out of Greuyere so added a little chedder cheese and it was great! I brought to a potluck two days later and everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Entire family raved about these potatoes! Followed recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Photo by Lisa M
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
It was very good. If you happen to have a Trader Joe's around town, get their cheddar/gruyere cheese blend and use that. It was perfect and not as expensive as a pure gruyere cheese. I also added some chives and seasoned the layers with a salt blend. Lastly I broiled the top for a bit to make it more crispy and pretty to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
These potatoes are probably the best au gratin I've ever made! The smokiness of the Gruyere really adds a unique dimension to the flavor. I chose to leave the peel on the Yukon Golds and I used a food processor to both slice the potatoes and shred the cheese. I suggest doing this to make the prep time significantly shortened. Also, I reheated the leftovers for breakfast and served runny eggs over them. It was an amazing combo and made breakfast feel gourmet and my husband feel spoiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I am eating this Recipe right now and I am very pleased with how it turned out. I used Unpeeled Little Red Potatoes and Peeled Yukon Potatoes, and Sliced them Thin. I recommend that you just bring them to a Boil, with your Diced Fresh Garlic and the 3/4 Teaspoon of Salt. Then immediately remove them and place them in a single layer in a 9 x 13-inch Baking Pan. Then add some Chopped Diced Zucchini, Onions, Red and Orange Peppers, Turkey Kielbasa, and Canned Mushrooms. Sprinkle on some Grated Cheese, I used Fresh Middletown Tomme from West River Creamy in Vermont, and 1 Cup of Heavy Cream (with 1/2 cup of Water, since our Heavy Cream is very Fresh and Thick). Now you have a Complete and Delicious Meal. Going back for Seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I have never rated a recipe before, but this recipe was such a hit for my family that I had to rate this recipe. I have been trying to make scalloped potatoes for my family for years. The other recipes were either too bland, too caloric, or just didn't work. This recipe is perfect. Tasty, easy, and satisfying. Rave reviews from my teenager and husband. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delicious if you follow the recipe. But... it's also fabulous if you make it with other cheeses like Colby-jack or cheddar or even a mix of cheeses. Go with what you like and you can't go wrong. I make this with 2% milk and it is awesome. So make as is or tweak for a different cheese flavor or to lighten it up calorie-wise. Any which way, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I cannot tell you how often I have made these. So good!!! It only takes about 1/4 pound of the Gruyere cheese and I buy it in chunk and grate it myself. I made it once putting the garlic raw in the layered potatoes. We didn't like it that way as much as it took away from the cheese. Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
For those of you who are hesitant to try this recipe because of the cost of Gruyere, I have a tip. Grate cheap grocery store brand Swiss cheese; it costs roughly $3 per pound instead of $18 or so per pound like Gruyere. Then pour about 3 T. of white wine over the 2 C. of the Swiss, toss, and let sit for at least 15 minutes. When ready to use, blot with a paper towel to remove excess wine, and it will remarkably cook up just like Gruyere. Your palate won't know the difference, but your pocketbook will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Eufaula, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States