Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made a lower fat version using 1/2 greek yogurt and 1/2 heavy cream with a touch of garlic salt and onion powder. I also LOVE rosemary, and was serving this with roasted hens, so I added fresh rosemary to the recipe which greatly complimented the Gruyere. (not too much though- it's easy to overpower things with rosemary!) Overall a quick, easy, yummy recipe that my whole family enjoyed (the kids asked for seconds!). And I agree with other reviewers - the fresh nutmeg makes a GREAT addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This recipe is uhmazing. I got RAVE reviews from my family. I can't believe how easy it was to make this recipe- my family told me it was like ''eating heaven!'' Yay! (I made it exactly according to this recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
we all loved it. Very expensive cheese but hey, it's Christmas! We wished it had more sauce but I may have not compensated enough for additional potatoes. Also, next time, will add a light sprinkle of salt or other favorite salty seasoning to each layer when assembling. I would say we're about light to average in the salt-to-taste department but it was just a little bland - maybe the cheese brand was less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Made this last night for the first time. Used 2 cups cheese. I love cheese. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrusseleac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Pretty good. May or may not make again. I wasn't totally knocked out, but they were serviceable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made a few changes...simmered the potatoes after I sliced them. Used 2 cups of cheddar, added a tsp of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delicious and quick. I added a sprinkle of dried chives and bacon bits in between the layers. Super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was easier to make than I thougt and the finished product was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! I made this for my parents. My dad said he wished it was cheesier and creamier, but my mom and I thought it was just right. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Well, this dish didnt turn out to be creamy although i've added milk and flour to make a sauce or kind of bechamell...it's tasty but i wanted it to be more creamy and savoury...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States