Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delicious if you follow the recipe. But... it's also fabulous if you make it with other cheeses like Colby-jack or cheddar or even a mix of cheeses. Go with what you like and you can't go wrong. I make this with 2% milk and it is awesome. So make as is or tweak for a different cheese flavor or to lighten it up calorie-wise. Any which way, you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I cannot tell you how often I have made these. So good!!! It only takes about 1/4 pound of the Gruyere cheese and I buy it in chunk and grate it myself. I made it once putting the garlic raw in the layered potatoes. We didn't like it that way as much as it took away from the cheese. Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
For those of you who are hesitant to try this recipe because of the cost of Gruyere, I have a tip. Grate cheap grocery store brand Swiss cheese; it costs roughly $3 per pound instead of $18 or so per pound like Gruyere. Then pour about 3 T. of white wine over the 2 C. of the Swiss, toss, and let sit for at least 15 minutes. When ready to use, blot with a paper towel to remove excess wine, and it will remarkably cook up just like Gruyere. Your palate won't know the difference, but your pocketbook will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Eufaula, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I did not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scorpio1882

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Served it with Easter Ham and it was gone before the ham. Easy to make, doubled recipe and added more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Made this for Easter it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb
Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
What a great change on scalloped potatoes. I used smoky Gruyere cheese. The added garlic in the pare boil stage was a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Made this for Easter Saturday family dinner. Was apprehensive as I had not even eaten this cheese before. We were having nineteen people for dinner. The only thing I changed was to double the recipe and use a larger pan. Cooked the potatoes on top of the range for 8 minutes. They were so delicious. Only had one serving left to bring home. True, the cheese is pricey, but the recipe is easy, quick and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Petrosha
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Fantastic Recipe! Easy on the cook! I made two changes...I added fried onions and a 284ml can of Campbell's Cream of Broccoli and Cheese soup to the milk mixture. A great recipe for any occasion ! Thank you! I took a photo ....baked and bubbly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Absolutely Fantastic! Don't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merry A Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States