Rich and Creamy Potatoes Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made these potatoes for a large group and everyone loved them so much there were none left over even though I made a double batch. The only thing I changed was I cooked up some bacon and then grilled sweet onions in a small amount of the bacon grease then added both the bacon and onion (sparingly ) in-between the layers of potatoes. They turned out great and now everyone wants the recipe. Give them a try, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I really wanted to love this recipe, but after making it twice I can only say I liked it. If I am going to justify the cost of the Gruyere, I have to LOVE it. It was easy to prepare: I only boiled the potatoes for about 5 minutes, and the layering process was a breeze. But, the final product is merely a mediocre, bland dish. And in our house, a $20 side dish needs to be FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
My husband LOVES this dish! I make with smoked gouda and it is so rich and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I made these potatoes for Easter with ham. Very good but a little bland. I added some of the ham drippings to the potatoes when they were just about done and I also added some onion to the potatoes when assembling. They turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Made this for Easter dinner, which meant there wouldn't be a lot of time to prepare it after the morning church service. I made the entire dish up to the point where it was ready to bake the night before, then covered and refrigerated it overnight. I was worried the potatoes would be mushy, so I sliced them a bit thicker than the recipe called for, but they were just fine. They baked while I roasted the asparagus and tossed the salad, and were perfect. I loved the Gruyere in this, and would definitely make it again. This reminded me of the individual baked portions of au gratin potatoes I've had at a local steakhouse - one of my favorite splurges there. Thanks for sharing Celeste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Sort of on the bland side...glad I fried up and crumbled some bacon and added it to the cheese sauce. Also, I hope the 1 quart casserole is a typo. I knew that 4 potatoes, 1 onion, and approximately three cups of sauce wouldn't fit into a 1 quart. Ended up using a 3 quart pyrex bowl so nothing would overflow in the oven. Will probably make it again, but will play with spicing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I doubled the amount of cream and cheese and did three layers instead of only two. I also put the dish together the night before to the point where you put it in the oven to bake, covered it with foil, let it cool and refrigerated it. I let it warm to room temperature while my ham was baking, took my ham out when it was hot, and baked the potatoes while I was glazing the ham. Potatoes came out when the ham went back in to bake the glaze and everything was perfect and ready all at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Boiling the potatoes made them bland soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Everything about this recipe was perfect, except that the final result was much too rich for my taste. Next time I try this, I'll use whole milk and see how it turns out. I was surprised that the potatoes didn't turn to mush - I cut them maybe 1/8-1/4" thick and boiled them for about 3-4 minutes. They were nearly done when I moved them to the casserole, so I thought they were going to dissolve into mashed potatoes during the baking, but they turned out with the perfect "bite" to them. The Gruyère melted and browned nicely, too. 54 minutes in the oven was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States