Rich and Creamy Cheesecake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This dessert is rich and sweet. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is an excellent twist on traditional cheesecake. I used butter instead of shortening and white cake mix instead of yellow. It turned out great and I've already committed to making it again for Easter lunch next weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Say no to the butter flavored shortening called for, some things simply have to have butter to taste right, and this recipe is one of them. This is the same recipe as "Gooey Butter Cake" except says use shortening instead of butter and that does the recipe no favors. Warning, it is very sweet so don't even think of trying this if you don't enjoy sweet desserts. I also think the "cheesecake" reference in the recipe name isn't all that accurate. The taste is kind of indescribable :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
These are "all right" according to the bf. I think they are a bit sweet, and I eliminated 1/2 a cup of the sugar. Bf says I can make it again, but we'll see. I didn't think it had a lot of flavor for the amount of ingredients. Seems to need something, although I don't know what. I tried making it in an 8x8 pan but I don't recommend it. I forgot about the cake part . . . .it rises. Oops. Anyway, it went a bit high over the pan. So if you make it, either halve the recipe or put it in a 9x13 pan as written. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I was really looking forward to this recipe because it sounds just great. Sadly, mine came out woefully undercooked and when I tried to cook it longer the top became too brown. The cake part was thick and coarse. I will try again because it just sounds so appealing and I want it to work but I felt like something was wrong with the ratios for this to turn out so disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I've made this recipe a few times now. I've found that a few changes really make this better. Use the pudding cake mix. Use 2 8oz packages of cream cheese (the whipped cream cheese was MUCH easier to work with) 3 eggs 4 cups of sugar With those changes, the topping was much creamier, and the pudding based cake mix kept the bottom layer very moist, held together over all a lot better. Also, found that if you let this cool and settle 12-24 hours before presentation, it's just that much better. A very good recipe!! Always gets compliments and never a bite left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Not as cheesy tasting as I would like and I think I under-baked it because it was soupy. I added lemon juice and zest for added flavor. I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAMPZALOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is by far the best dessert I have ever made!!!Anytime I make them to take somewhere I always take along a few copies of the recipe because I always get asked for it. Everyone in my family loves them, I'm always asked to bring them to any gathering that we have. Be careful though, their addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
I did not like these bars at all. But, some people who tried them really liked them. The bars are not at all like cheesecake, so the name is very misleading. I thought they tasted like extremely sweet cream cheese frosting on a crust. Too much sugar and not enough cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
My husband is not a dessert person and rarely eats sweets, but he loved this. He tells his friends that I try new recipes but don't make them often enough. My teenage children loved it also. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States