Rich and Creamy Cheesecake Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I've made this recipe a few times now. I've found that a few changes really make this better. Use the pudding cake mix. Use 2 8oz packages of cream cheese (the whipped cream cheese was MUCH easier to work with) 3 eggs 4 cups of sugar With those changes, the topping was much creamier, and the pudding based cake mix kept the bottom layer very moist, held together over all a lot better. Also, found that if you let this cool and settle 12-24 hours before presentation, it's just that much better. A very good recipe!! Always gets compliments and never a bite left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
I did not like these bars at all. But, some people who tried them really liked them. The bars are not at all like cheesecake, so the name is very misleading. I thought they tasted like extremely sweet cream cheese frosting on a crust. Too much sugar and not enough cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
My husband is not a dessert person and rarely eats sweets, but he loved this. He tells his friends that I try new recipes but don't make them often enough. My teenage children loved it also. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2001
This was a good dessert but not what I was expecting. I thought it would be more like cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Say no to the butter flavored shortening called for, some things simply have to have butter to taste right, and this recipe is one of them. This is the same recipe as "Gooey Butter Cake" except says use shortening instead of butter and that does the recipe no favors. Warning, it is very sweet so don't even think of trying this if you don't enjoy sweet desserts. I also think the "cheesecake" reference in the recipe name isn't all that accurate. The taste is kind of indescribable :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I was really looking forward to this recipe because it sounds just great. Sadly, mine came out woefully undercooked and when I tried to cook it longer the top became too brown. The cake part was thick and coarse. I will try again because it just sounds so appealing and I want it to work but I felt like something was wrong with the ratios for this to turn out so disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Taylors, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
This is by far the best dessert I have ever made!!!Anytime I make them to take somewhere I always take along a few copies of the recipe because I always get asked for it. Everyone in my family loves them, I'm always asked to bring them to any gathering that we have. Be careful though, their addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
Took it to church for the Sunday morning coffee hour. I've never had so many requests for a recipe before. Its the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2001
Creamy and delicious! Was an instant hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2001
I took this cheescake to potluck the other night, and I had 3 ladies wanting the recipe...it was delicious! And very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States