Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I used a cheap cut of meat and half the amount called for (beef stew meat--hey, on a tight food budget!) and only a pound which meant a) I had to simmer my meat just a little longer and b) I doubled the mushrooms so I could fake the actual amount of meat I used. I used dijon mustard and I added a teaspoon each of dried basil and dried oregano. I did NOT add the extra salt as there was plenty in the beef broth I used. I served this with buttered egg noodles and roasted broccoli. Everyone loved it. There's just enough for someone to re-warm for lunch tomorrow. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! The only thing I would change to make it a fool-proof dish is to use beef tenderloin for the meat--it cooks faster and is always tender. It's worth the extra $$ for special occasions. I didn't happen to have wine on hand, and substituted red wine vinegar for the marinade, and it added a nice tang to the roux. If you're not fond of spicier flavors, it's fine to omit the red pepper. This is gourmet eating--remember to leave a tip for the cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My husband raved about this recipe! I did not marinate in red wine, and the flavor was great without it. As other reviewers mentioned, I subbed dijon for yellow mustard. Instead of red pepper flakes, I used a pinch of ground cayenne. Also, this recipe can be completed with a slow cooker for 4-5 hours on low; add the sauteed mushrooms a half hour before the end of cooking time. I found that the gravy was a little thin in the slow cooker, so added some corn starch just before serving. You will love this recipe! The sour cream and cream cheese add the depth of flavor that makes this stroganoff "rich and creamy." Thanks, sanfrancook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe. Followed as written, used a cast iron pan. Will definitely make again, would be perfect for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Oh. My. Word. You know those recipes that you just have to try because they have 3,000+ five-star ratings, and they turn out to be AWESOME? This deserves thousands of five-star ratings! I left out the red pepper flakes and added the wine with the sauce ingredients instead of marinating. I used 1/2 C. sour cream and 4 oz. cream cheese. I served it over Spaetzle noodles imported from Germany. Simple words are inadequate to describe how good this is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The (Almost) Amazing Mammarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very tasty and delicious Stroganoff. I used the rest of my Christmas Prime Rib, cut into thin strips instead of the chuck roast recommended. Sauteed the onions, garlic and mushrooms together, set aside and proceeded with the rest of the recipe, following the directions as written. Only sub I made was using dijon mustard instead of yellow prepared. I served over a hearty home-style egg noodle and heard nothing but mmmm's around the table. Thanks for sharing a great and easy recipe. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Best recipe I've found for Stroganoff! I used white wine instead of red and next time I'll cut the crushed red pepper in half. We love some spice but this was a little too much for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Definitely 5-star! I've never been a huge fan of stroganoff--it was always something my mom made as something to do with leftover Sunday roast, so I have used it the same way. And, for me, it's always been somewhat "ho-hum." But this? Wow...I just made it with some leftover meat and my husband and I were practically liking our plates! I can't wait to make it fresh, with all fresh ingredients. I also used canned mushrooms 'cause that's all I hand on hand. If this only gets better with fresh, marinated beef as well as fresh mushrooms I CAN'T WAIT to make it again. Thank you very much for this recipe SanFranCook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was the best stroganoff I've ever made....my husband called it "absolutely delicious"! The only thing I did not really like was the flavor the meat took on from marinating in wine; next time I will not marinate meat, but will add the wine to the sauce...it gives the sauce some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Loved it even more before adding the cream cheese & sour cream... so next time I make this I'll leave those 2 things out. I made the following variations since I do NOT like tough or chewey meat & didn't want to take a chance so I did this portion of the recipe using a slow cooker. ... I used a beef round roast that I sliced 1/2" thick slices; (I used an inexpensive red wine -Terrenal Cabernet Sauvignon - from trader joe's) marinated, pat dry, sear each side in olive oil, then immediately put into slow cooker, saute onions & garlic in butter, olive oil, splash of wine, pinch of salt.. added to slow cooker along with remaining marinade & all the other liquids & seasonings listed... let cook 3 hours on high. When done, use all broth from slow cooker when following directions for "Steps #3..." ... the sauce was creamy & so tastey. Personally, I feel the cream cheese & sour cream are optional when using a slow cooker for beef. Tip: for noodles, try this recipe: Grandma's Butter Noodles by Momofaddy. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States