Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This recipe is delicious! I had been wanting to make a stroganoff from scratch and decided on this recipe. The only change I made was leaving out the mushrooms because my husband and I don't really like them. We loved the flavor and the spice the red pepper flakes gave! My husband said he could smell this cooking outside while he was doing yardwork and it made his mouth water. He was very happy it was coming from OUR kitchen when he came in for dinner! I will definitely be making this recipe again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is absolutely decadent. I left out the mushrooms, reluctantly, as my teenagers don't like. Only modification to consider...reduce red pepper flakes. I loved, but the family thought a bit spicy. Not kidding, I was sopping up the gravy and eating while cleaning up....was that good. Served with some country green beans and fresh tomatoes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is hands-down the BEST stroganoff I've ever made...and I've made a lot of different kinds. One slight modification: cut the red paper flakes down to 1/2 tsp. and it gave it just the right amount of heat without making it overwhelming. Recipe is delicious and impressive enough to serve to company. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I made this exactly as written with the exception of the red pepper flakes. I used 1/2 a teaspoon as opposed to 2 teaspoons and my tongue is still burning a little. Other than that this is a great recipe. I used the pre-sliced chuck roast for stir fry at the meat counter in the grocery store and saved myself the effort of cutting a roast up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Whole family loved it. With small children, I did reduce the red pepper flakes to 1/2 teaspoon. We had to use ground beef (2lb) and doubled the roux/sauce and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I read the reviews and used them to adjust the recipe to my family's taste. I prepped the food the night before as I babysit my young grandchildren the day of the meal. I did not marinate the beef in the wine but added the salt and pepper to the wine and refrigerated it over night in a container. I browned the beef, onions with garlic, and mushrooms the day before and put everything in the refrigerator, ready for the next day. I followed the recipe with two minor exceptions. After taste testing I decided to only use a couple of shakes of red pepper flakes and cut down the amount of cream cheese to approx. 2 and 1/4 oz. (3/4 of the 3 ounce block). My family LOVED this recipe and I will be making it again and again. Thank you for a true winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Really, really nice stroganoff. I did knock off one star for the recipe as written as there is no way I would use 2t of red pepper flakes. I used a 1/2t and you could still feel the heat. Didn't have any cream cheese, but it was just fine using only sour cream. I would also recommend adding some herbs, like thyme, rosemary and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Really, really good. My partner was unexpectedly surprised. I don't use sour cream in most foods I cook. So - using it here - I admit was the perfect touch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This was FANTASTIC! I followed the advice from someone else and saved the beef drippings. I then added enough beef stock to bring it up to the 1 1/3 cup mark. I read the reviews about decreasing the red pepper, but followed the recipe and didn't find the dish to be overly spicy. This is a keeper! It ALWAYS takes me way more time to prep than others apparently, but still, it was worth every minute of the time I spent in the kitchen! I did almost forget to purchase the noodles for this dish, so it would be great to see that added to the ingredients list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
oh wow! The kids plates were clean before I even got to sit down and take a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States