Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe. Followed as written, used a cast iron pan. Will definitely make again, would be perfect for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scandinavia, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was the best stroganoff I've ever made....my husband called it "absolutely delicious"! The only thing I did not really like was the flavor the meat took on from marinating in wine; next time I will not marinate meat, but will add the wine to the sauce...it gives the sauce some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Best recipe I've found for Stroganoff! I used white wine instead of red and next time I'll cut the crushed red pepper in half. We love some spice but this was a little too much for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
VERY VERY VERY YUMMY!!!! The flavor of this recipe is awesome ~ my four-year-old is even enjoying it! I didn't change a thing in the recipe...made it as written (with the the exception that I forgot to save the marinade, so used fresh red wine instead of the marinade toward the end). Still turned out fantastic! THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE! **Update** Forgot to mention I OMITTED the red pepper flakes from this recipe...my 4 year old isn't keen on anything even slightly spicy. Turned out great even without them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Definitely 5-star! I've never been a huge fan of stroganoff--it was always something my mom made as something to do with leftover Sunday roast, so I have used it the same way. And, for me, it's always been somewhat "ho-hum." But this? Wow...I just made it with some leftover meat and my husband and I were practically licking our plates! I can't wait to make it fresh, with all fresh ingredients. I also used canned mushrooms 'cause that's all I hand on hand. If this only gets better with fresh, marinated beef as well as fresh mushrooms I CAN'T WAIT to make it again. Thank you very much for this recipe SanFranCook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This is definitely the best thing I have eaten in a long time!! Wonderful mix of flavors. We used left-over marinated tri-tip we bought at Costco. We will be making this again REAL SOON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I havent' even finished cooking this dish yet and can already tell you it's amazing! I added a little extra garlic, only because I love garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This recipe was really good. I just fried the beef in a skillet and mixed in all the ingridients without pre-frying or marinating and it tasted great :) And instead of melting butter and adding flour, I cooked the meat in the broth. There was no need for a thicker gravy I think :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! The only thing I would change to make it a fool-proof dish is to use beef tenderloin for the meat--it cooks faster and is always tender. It's worth the extra $$ for special occasions. I didn't happen to have wine on hand, and substituted red wine vinegar for the marinade, and it added a nice tang to the roux. If you're not fond of spicier flavors, it's fine to omit the red pepper. This is gourmet eating--remember to leave a tip for the cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Fantastic! I've tried more than a few stroganoff recipes and this one is by far the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States