Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Excellent recipe. I seldom make a dish exactly as presented because I know what I like and adjust it to my taste; comes with experience. This, however, sounded good as is and it didn't disappoint. It is now my go-to recipe for Stroganoff. Served it with Chianti and a good sourdough and got raves. I will experiment with it by adding a couple of chopped bacon slices to the onion and garlic, and a tablespoon of good bourbon in the sauce just to see how it works. That's one of the joys of cooking; experimentation! And for those of you who thought this was too spicy......you need some serious work on your heat resistance, lol! This just has a pleasant little zing to it. Thanks for the recipe sanfrancook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Loved this recipe! So easy, I had 99% of the ingredients in my fridge which is what I love in a new recipe! Is there anything worse than having to buy things you never really need more than a small amount of?! I used a roast that I had in the freezer, we cut up our roasts from Costco to make them stretch further. This was the little guy so it was perfect. Did everything exactly as mentioned and served over egg noodles. We skipped on the mushrooms since we have a picky eater in the house. Has anyone tried to freeze this recipe? I wonder if I make a batch (excluding the sr.cream and crm.cheese) and then put it in the crock pot at noon. Let me know if anyone has tried that! Thanks for the recipe! I hope more people try this one out!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I liked the taste using the wine. For me though I knew that amount of red pepper was to much. I omitted it and used a dash cayenne pepper.And I also used stew meat beef. It was not tender enough after an hour. Next time I think I will use a better cut of meat or shaved steak or hamburger. And I think the cream cheese takes away from the flavor to much. maybe half of that amount next time.Great tasting ,but lots of steps.. and what a mess I made lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Love it! I did alter for tastes as I usually do, -- Stroganoff is I think an eastern european dish, so I wondered if the red pepper flakes was meant to be or could be subsituted with paprika.. I like paprika just not a lot, so I omitted from the recipe and sprinkeled about 1/2 tsp over the serving platter.. It worked for us! I also cut back on the cream cheese.. just seemed really thick. and next time - I might sub out some of the sourcream for a really good yogurt? Has anyone tried that? Thanks for a great stroganoff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Made it for the Guys at the firehouse, they loved it, no leftovers! Must try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
What a wonderful recipe. I am a beginner cook and I found it to be a bit of a challenge and very rewarding! I did cut back on the meat and red pepper flakes(like the kick the pepper flakes add). I also used some low fat ingredients and it came out fantastic. I would recommend this recipe to anyone and it was fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
There are SO MANY ways to vary this recipe, that I can't even begin to put it all down. We have eaten this recipe in some form at least twice a month since I found it about a year ago. The original recipe is very good, but you can do it however you want and I promise, you CAN'T mess it up. --I ALWAYS add the cream cheese and sour cream before I add the meat back and I always use ground beef (way cheaper to feed our family). Things to try that we have done and LOVED every time: --Don't have wine? No problem, just don't use it and add a wee bit more Worcestershire....Still tastes awesome! --Spicy Brown mustard substituted for yellow and 3x as much! --Too thick? Just add more beef broth! --Don't have beef broth on hand? Just use beef bullion and water.... Can't tell the difference. My husband absolutely loves this stuff and when I say "Stroganoff Night!", he actually talks about how much he loves my stroganoff the ENTIRE time until it is done! P.S. This entire meal can be made in less than an hour if need be. I never simmer for an hour at the end. Just get meat cooked (10-15 mins for ground beef), cook down onions and mushrooms together (5-10 mins), get the sauce part all mixed up (20 mins max) and add meat back in, simmer while wide egg noodles boil (10-12 mins), and presto! Dinner in an hour! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
We loved this, but the amount of red pepper flakes was way too much! I'm going to make again, but will only add about a 1/2 tsp this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My family and I feel in love with this recipe over wide noodles and a chardonnay instead of red wine. Thank you so much this is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I read a review that said the recipe was too spicy. I reduced the red pepper to 1 tsp, but used spicy brown mustard, since I didn't have yellow. It worked out fabulously. This was sweet and savory at the same time on the tongue. Upon swallowing, the peppers warm your throat. Only time I've had stroganoff prior was hamburger helper. This isn't in the same class. Waaaayyy better! Rock this with broccoli or asparagus, and red wine! She will bow before you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States