Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I read a review that said the recipe was too spicy. I reduced the red pepper to 1 tsp, but used spicy brown mustard, since I didn't have yellow. It worked out fabulously. This was sweet and savory at the same time on the tongue. Upon swallowing, the peppers warm your throat. Only time I've had stroganoff prior was hamburger helper. This isn't in the same class. Waaaayyy better! Rock this with broccoli or asparagus, and red wine! She will bow before you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is my new favorite Beef Stroganoff recipe! I was a little bitter about having to share my wine, but it was totally worth it. I didn't use red pepper flakes, because my kid hates spicy. Just a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
what a great recipe! this was super yummy! I put in to much red pepper( more than what was called for) so it was super spicy but i loved all the different flavors of this stroganoff! I didn't put in the mushrooms because we don't care for them. I will be making this recipe again. My boyfriend thought it was restaurant worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter, except for the red pepper flakes. Following other's advice here, I cut this down to 1/2 teaspoon and it was more than enough. I liked the zip that the pepper flakes added, and I love spicy food, but 2 teaspoons would be overwhelming. The sauce is very thick and delicious. I can see where some may want to thin down the sauce a bit. Overall, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is the only stroganoff to use in my opinion. No one in our family likes mushrooms but we all eat them in this recipe! I use a stoneground mustard and sirloin tips cut into small pieces across the grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Ma Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My family luved luved luved it. Will defently make ajain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I followed this recipe almost exactly and while my family enjoyed it (but did not love it), I did not. This may be because I have a sensitive nose, but the smell of the meat cooking in the wine marinade turned my stomach to the point that I could not eat it, although the smell was remedied when I added the creams. The red pepper was discordant and did not enhance the dish in any way. Next time I attempt it, I will leave out the wine and red pepper to see if the results are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Wasn't bad, but it wasn't amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I thought this recipe was wonderful. Only reason I gave it 4 vs 5 stars was that I found that the red pepper was a bit overpowering. I would use 1/2 the amount next time. I also found the prep time to be longer than listed which is not a big deal, just good to know if you are in a time crunch. Otherwise, great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarsonMaciMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This recipe always turns out delicious. We can't get cream cheese or mushrooms easily or cheaply here, but it is still creamy and rich without them. I have never had to simmer it for one hour, I think the sauce would be a little thick. The red pepper flakes are divine in there but I'm the only one who can take the heat in my family. We've served it over rice and egg noodles and it's simply delicious. This is my go-to meal for guests because I can count on it turning out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States