Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Too much red pepper. I spent hours making this dish and when it was done, all we could taste was red pepper. I would cut it down to half a teaspoon of red pepper flakes or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is really good! I didn't marinate in red wine (didn't have any). Even my son, who is a very picky eater, liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Really yummy and fool proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
OMG this was amazing. So creamy and hearty. We followed other reviewers' advice and cut back on the crushed red pepper - we gave the skillet two good shakes from the dispenser, and it turned out just right. We also substituted dijon mustard for the prepared mustard. Followed the rest of the recipe just as written, using a cast iron skillet. Just be sure to watch it while it's simmering - ours started to burn to the bottom of the skillet. We served it over egg noodles and topped with breadcrumbs, with a little of the Pinot Noir we used for the marinade. SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmcgl001

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
YEP! I chose to add a little less flour and a little more stock to the base (may be because I am at a high altitude), but the combo of sour cream, cream cheese and red pepper will keep your taste buds excited for every bite. Tenderloin would have been an excellent substitution to the chuck, but a good cut of chuck is more cost effective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Love it! I skipped the sour cream and cream cheese step and it was still very creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Thanks SanFran! I didn't change a thing, it was super. I have trouble with roux sometimes, so the 4 minutes was perfect. My house smelled like heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Schuman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This recipe just called out for using left over Chuck Roast that had been braised tender in red wine and beef stock the night before. I also used Chef John's Creme Fraiche recipe from this site instead of sour cream. Since the beef was already cooked and tender all I had to do was slice and add it to the onions, garlic, mushrooms and sauce leaving out the red pepper flakes. Served over homemade egg noodles. My wife loved this meal better than the Braised Chuck Roast w/veggies we had the night before. A keeper for left over chuck roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
great recipe! didn't do the wine, and cooked in sequence like my mom does it. i also added half a red pepper I needed to get rid of-best I've made yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Beef Stroganoff III

See how to make a 5-star beef stroganoff recipe.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States