Rich and Chocolaty Syrup Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I have tried this recipe and it kind of startled me on how great it is, because the picture looks kind of weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
As easy as boxed brownie mix, and I was able to make it when I was craving something chocolatey and gooey but didn't have anything chocolate in my home. All ingredient is something I have at hand always, so this is a keeper!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
when i made this i split the ingredients into two seperate bowls and in one bowl i did one cup of chocolate syrup and half the ingredients required and the second bowl used 1 cup of strawberry syrup and other half of indredients and also added about 1/3 cup more flour to strawberry batter than chocolate then poured the chocolate batter in greased pan then the strawberry batter on top of the chocolate took a bamboo skewr and made swirl patterns bake for about 1 hour and 15 mins or until didnt stick to toothpick a whole lot...made homemade cream cheese icing and frosted after it cooled was delicious would even be great with carmel instead of strawberry...my 3 year old love it and loved helping make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Good chocolate fix without having to go to the grocery store. A little on the interesting side - it was like a mix between cake and brownies - but that could have been due to not frosting it. I garnished it with confectioner's sugar instead of frosting, as that is what I had on hand. Next time, I think it would be good with a simple orange glaze (reduction of confectioner's sugar and OJ - really easy) or with icing/frosting. Definitely tasted like chocolate syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
We were craving chocolate and only had chocolate syrup in the house. I baked this for almost 50 minutes and it never got firm. The edges were a little carmelized with a pudding like center. update- I took a bite of this the following day and it was good! When it was warm it was too mushy but once it is completely cooled it's more like a gooey brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This wasn't a cake--it was a pan of brownies. The taste was so-so--not chocolately enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Wiechert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was good because of the ease of making it. I'd recommend this for the kid crowd- I love flourless chocolate torte which has few rivals in chocoholic world. Note: chocolate syrup is measured by weight and not volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I needed a quick chocolate fix and all I had in my house was chocolate syrup! I only made half the batch because that's all I had and just put it in a 9x9 pan. It was just what I needed. Not too sweet and very moist. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This had the taste and consistency of a very rich chocolate brownie. If that's what you're looking for, you'll love this, but I myself was looking for more a more cake-like finished product. (This was also very hard to remove from the pan for some reason--the syrup, maybe?? Even after greasing and flouring, I had to really dig this cake up to get it out of the pan.) It was nice not to dirty many dishes making it, but this wasn't worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2000
I frosted this cake with whipped cream which added a nice light touch to this rich cake. Also works well as a sheet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States