Rich Yogurt Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Best Waffles Ever!!! I have tried so many waffle recipes and waffle mixes and this one is my favorite, hands down. I only tried this recipe because I had a tub of yogurt that was about to expire and boy, am I glad I did. Following other reviewers suggestions, I substituted 1/4c. oil instead of shortening. Also, because I only had plain yogurt I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tbsp of honey. The batter came together beautifully. These waffles took longer to cook than most other waffles I've made, about 4.5-5 minutes. They are so tasty and rich, yet light and fluffy. Thank you so much for this recipe, it's exactly what I've been looking for! Perfect waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
A little too heavy and didn't crisp up to my preference. I decided to make these because I had yogurt on hand. I probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I happen to be out of Crisco, I substituted vegetable oil in equal amounts. For me, the batter was a bit thinner than what I'm used to but the waffles were passable. We liked the flavor that the yogurt gave to these waffles. I think if I make these again, I'd take Sarah May's advice and cut back on the fat called for in this recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
A nice crispy waffle made with your favorite yogurt flavor. I made 2 batches of these to use up yogurt. The first was as written, using the ff vanilla. The next was using strawberry. Both were equally delicious. I laid them on a cookie sheet until they were frozen, and then bagged them up. They reheat great in the toaster for breakfast. I had the waffle iron heat set at medium and it produced a nice golden brown waffle. Thanks PRINCESSKAROLY for sharing this recipe. It is a great way to use up yogurt. It will definitely be repeated in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
pretty good, easy, used whole wheat flour and canola oil instead of shortening, puffed up but were a little dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was an easy, good tasting waffle recipe. Easy to throw together. I took the advice of a couple of reviews. I replaced the shortening with Canola oil and replaced 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour. I highly recommend doing this. whole The wheat flour adds so much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These waffles are wonderful. Soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. My whole family loved them! I used butter crisco and the waffles has a light buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe, except I substituted 1/2 cup melted butter for the shortening, and added an extra 1/2 cup chia seed gel for fiber. Also for variations, you can add toasted sunflower seeds, chopped cooked ham, sambal oelek (flavored mild chilli paste) and grated cheese. I also made other waffles with spinach, chopped cook ham, feta cheese and cracked pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
See ya later box mix!! This recipe is great, I hate when my waffles are so dry that you need to pour a ton of syrup all over them. I made with banana cream pie yogurt because thats what I had and they still came out great, couldnt taste the banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Love how easy and simple these were to make. I took the advise of reviewer Sarah-May and subbed out the shortening and replaced with a 1/4 C of oil. It was perfect, they were light, fluffy and not at all greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States