Rich Yogurt Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Best Waffles Ever!!! I have tried so many waffle recipes and waffle mixes and this one is my favorite, hands down. I only tried this recipe because I had a tub of yogurt that was about to expire and boy, am I glad I did. Following other reviewers suggestions, I substituted 1/4c. oil instead of shortening. Also, because I only had plain yogurt I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tbsp of honey. The batter came together beautifully. These waffles took longer to cook than most other waffles I've made, about 4.5-5 minutes. They are so tasty and rich, yet light and fluffy. Thank you so much for this recipe, it's exactly what I've been looking for! Perfect waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
A little too heavy and didn't crisp up to my preference. I decided to make these because I had yogurt on hand. I probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fennbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I happen to be out of Crisco, I substituted vegetable oil in equal amounts. For me, the batter was a bit thinner than what I'm used to but the waffles were passable. We liked the flavor that the yogurt gave to these waffles. I think if I make these again, I'd take Sarah May's advice and cut back on the fat called for in this recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
A nice crispy waffle made with your favorite yogurt flavor. I made 2 batches of these to use up yogurt. The first was as written, using the ff vanilla. The next was using strawberry. Both were equally delicious. I laid them on a cookie sheet until they were frozen, and then bagged them up. They reheat great in the toaster for breakfast. I had the waffle iron heat set at medium and it produced a nice golden brown waffle. Thanks PRINCESSKAROLY for sharing this recipe. It is a great way to use up yogurt. It will definitely be repeated in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
pretty good, easy, used whole wheat flour and canola oil instead of shortening, puffed up but were a little dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was an easy, good tasting waffle recipe. Easy to throw together. I took the advice of a couple of reviews. I replaced the shortening with Canola oil and replaced 1 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour. I highly recommend doing this. whole The wheat flour adds so much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These waffles are wonderful. Soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. My whole family loved them! I used butter crisco and the waffles has a light buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe, except I substituted 1/2 cup melted butter for the shortening, and added an extra 1/2 cup chia seed gel for fiber. Also for variations, you can add toasted sunflower seeds, chopped cooked ham, sambal oelek (flavored mild chilli paste) and grated cheese. I also made other waffles with spinach, chopped cook ham, feta cheese and cracked pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
See ya later box mix!! This recipe is great, I hate when my waffles are so dry that you need to pour a ton of syrup all over them. I made with banana cream pie yogurt because thats what I had and they still came out great, couldnt taste the banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Love how easy and simple these were to make. I took the advise of reviewer Sarah-May and subbed out the shortening and replaced with a 1/4 C of oil. It was perfect, they were light, fluffy and not at all greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States