Rich Yogurt Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
A nice crispy waffle made with your favorite yogurt flavor. I made 2 batches of these to use up yogurt. The first was as written, using the ff vanilla. The next was using strawberry. Both were equally delicious. I laid them on a cookie sheet until they were frozen, and then bagged them up. They reheat great in the toaster for breakfast. I had the waffle iron heat set at medium and it produced a nice golden brown waffle. Thanks PRINCESSKAROLY for sharing this recipe. It is a great way to use up yogurt. It will definitely be repeated in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a very good recipe. It is thick,but it spreads well.It was a very soft waffle. I only used 6Tbsp of melted shorting. They were not greasy at all. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Yum! I had some extra yogurt that was about to go bad so I decided to give this a try (I did not have high expectations). I was surprised at how delicious this was! I used plain yogurt, and 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/4 all purpose, and about HALF the shortening. This is my new favorite waffle recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Hard to rate this since I changed it a bit per other reviews. I used 1/4 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup shortening. I also added 1tsp of vanilla for more flavor. I whipped the eggs before adding everything else. These were the lightest, fluffy waffels i've ever made and we loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We really liked these. I used greek nonfat yogurt, oil instead of the shortening. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
See ya later box mix!! This recipe is great, I hate when my waffles are so dry that you need to pour a ton of syrup all over them. I made with banana cream pie yogurt because thats what I had and they still came out great, couldnt taste the banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe, except I substituted 1/2 cup melted butter for the shortening, and added an extra 1/2 cup chia seed gel for fiber. Also for variations, you can add toasted sunflower seeds, chopped cooked ham, sambal oelek (flavored mild chilli paste) and grated cheese. I also made other waffles with spinach, chopped cook ham, feta cheese and cracked pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These waffles are wonderful. Soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. My whole family loved them! I used butter crisco and the waffles has a light buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummibrahim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Best Waffles Ever!!! I have tried so many waffle recipes and waffle mixes and this one is my favorite, hands down. I only tried this recipe because I had a tub of yogurt that was about to expire and boy, am I glad I did. Following other reviewers suggestions, I substituted 1/4c. oil instead of shortening. Also, because I only had plain yogurt I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tbsp of honey. The batter came together beautifully. These waffles took longer to cook than most other waffles I've made, about 4.5-5 minutes. They are so tasty and rich, yet light and fluffy. Thank you so much for this recipe, it's exactly what I've been looking for! Perfect waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
makes a little over 4 cups of batter. it took about a cup of batter to make 1 waffle. i would cut back on the shortening as it was a little greasy. but the little one gobbled them up so i will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States