Rich Yogurt Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I happen to be out of Crisco, I substituted vegetable oil in equal amounts. For me, the batter was a bit thinner than what I'm used to but the waffles were passable. We liked the flavor that the yogurt gave to these waffles. I think if I make these again, I'd take Sarah May's advice and cut back on the fat called for in this recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
As written this recipe is too greasy, I got a much nicer result when I subbed a little less than 1/4 cup of canola oil for the shortening. The waffles turned out very soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I thought the flavor was fine, but I don't think all the fat is necessary. I prefer waffles that are light and moist on the inside and lightly crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Hard to rate this since I changed it a bit per other reviews. I used 1/4 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup shortening. I also added 1tsp of vanilla for more flavor. I whipped the eggs before adding everything else. These were the lightest, fluffy waffels i've ever made and we loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a very good recipe. It is thick,but it spreads well.It was a very soft waffle. I only used 6Tbsp of melted shorting. They were not greasy at all. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Love how easy and simple these were to make. I took the advise of reviewer Sarah-May and subbed out the shortening and replaced with a 1/4 C of oil. It was perfect, they were light, fluffy and not at all greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Yum! I had some extra yogurt that was about to go bad so I decided to give this a try (I did not have high expectations). I was surprised at how delicious this was! I used plain yogurt, and 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/4 all purpose, and about HALF the shortening. This is my new favorite waffle recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
makes a little over 4 cups of batter. it took about a cup of batter to make 1 waffle. i would cut back on the shortening as it was a little greasy. but the little one gobbled them up so i will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We really liked these. I used greek nonfat yogurt, oil instead of the shortening. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe, except I substituted 1/2 cup melted butter for the shortening, and added an extra 1/2 cup chia seed gel for fiber. Also for variations, you can add toasted sunflower seeds, chopped cooked ham, sambal oelek (flavored mild chilli paste) and grated cheese. I also made other waffles with spinach, chopped cook ham, feta cheese and cracked pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States