Rich Yogurt Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I happen to be out of Crisco, I substituted vegetable oil in equal amounts. For me, the batter was a bit thinner than what I'm used to but the waffles were passable. We liked the flavor that the yogurt gave to these waffles. I think if I make these again, I'd take Sarah May's advice and cut back on the fat called for in this recipe by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
As written this recipe is too greasy, I got a much nicer result when I subbed a little less than 1/4 cup of canola oil for the shortening. The waffles turned out very soft and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I thought the flavor was fine, but I don't think all the fat is necessary. I prefer waffles that are light and moist on the inside and lightly crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a very good recipe. It is thick,but it spreads well.It was a very soft waffle. I only used 6Tbsp of melted shorting. They were not greasy at all. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Barnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Love how easy and simple these were to make. I took the advise of reviewer Sarah-May and subbed out the shortening and replaced with a 1/4 C of oil. It was perfect, they were light, fluffy and not at all greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Hard to rate this since I changed it a bit per other reviews. I used 1/4 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup shortening. I also added 1tsp of vanilla for more flavor. I whipped the eggs before adding everything else. These were the lightest, fluffy waffels i've ever made and we loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Yum! I had some extra yogurt that was about to go bad so I decided to give this a try (I did not have high expectations). I was surprised at how delicious this was! I used plain yogurt, and 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1/4 all purpose, and about HALF the shortening. This is my new favorite waffle recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
makes a little over 4 cups of batter. it took about a cup of batter to make 1 waffle. i would cut back on the shortening as it was a little greasy. but the little one gobbled them up so i will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
We really liked these. I used greek nonfat yogurt, oil instead of the shortening. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe, except I substituted 1/2 cup melted butter for the shortening, and added an extra 1/2 cup chia seed gel for fiber. Also for variations, you can add toasted sunflower seeds, chopped cooked ham, sambal oelek (flavored mild chilli paste) and grated cheese. I also made other waffles with spinach, chopped cook ham, feta cheese and cracked pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States