Rich Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I've used this recipe for 3 years, have doubled the amount I make each year, and am always told I should have made more. This is THE Turkey gravy. CHEERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Three Sons

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Been using this for two years now. Quick and easy after all the other work you've done. This year my mother in-law asked me to bring packaged gravy mix. And of course with getting everyone ready and taking things I had prepared for our feast i forgot the packages. Then I remember the recipe that I made along with my thanksgiving dinner last year. Had gravy in minutes. Quick easy and homemade not packaged. Use more drippings for better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gerrietp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Worked well, but quite modified. I used way more drippings though. Must have been two cups. I just used them all. Added a tablespoon of tomato paste and one of fig jam a few minutes before adding the water. Very tasty, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I really liked that this is a simple recipe which doesn't call for a lot of extras. My guests thought this was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I don't know why I had trouble with this recipe except the amounts don't seem right. I heated up the turkey drippings and flour and it just clumped into a thick ball. I had to add about 3X as much of the turkey drippings/liquid to get it to at least be a paste consistency. Then, after 5 minutes, on only medium temperature, the paste started browning to the pot. I ended up having to take it off the burner and add the broth and whisk it quickly. It didn't thicken up that much, and I ended up adding some cornstarch and then more turkey liquid to get it a browner color. After all of that, the taste was great. However, it took re-making the entire recipe. Per other recipes, on the site, I added a pinch or two of celery salt, black pepper, and poultry seasoning. I really enjoyed it with the meal, but the recipe was just off for me as is. The only change I made was using turkey stock that I had made. The recipe, at least got me started on the gravy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
A little too salty for my taste, but maybe my turkey drippings had more salt. Will cut out one of the boullion cubes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Portions were all off. I will NOT be making this gravy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
The easiest gravy I ever made. I doubled the recipe. It came out smooth and tasted great. I cooked the turkey and gravy the day before, reheating the gravy in the microwave and it was as good as day one. This will remain my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States