Rich Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I don't know why I had trouble with this recipe except the amounts don't seem right. I heated up the turkey drippings and flour and it just clumped into a thick ball. I had to add about 3X as much of the turkey drippings/liquid to get it to at least be a paste consistency. Then, after 5 minutes, on only medium temperature, the paste started browning to the pot. I ended up having to take it off the burner and add the broth and whisk it quickly. It didn't thicken up that much, and I ended up adding some cornstarch and then more turkey liquid to get it a browner color. After all of that, the taste was great. However, it took re-making the entire recipe. Per other recipes, on the site, I added a pinch or two of celery salt, black pepper, and poultry seasoning. I really enjoyed it with the meal, but the recipe was just off for me as is. The only change I made was using turkey stock that I had made. The recipe, at least got me started on the gravy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
A little too salty for my taste, but maybe my turkey drippings had more salt. Will cut out one of the boullion cubes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Portions were all off. I will NOT be making this gravy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
The easiest gravy I ever made. I doubled the recipe. It came out smooth and tasted great. I cooked the turkey and gravy the day before, reheating the gravy in the microwave and it was as good as day one. This will remain my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Really good gravy! I used 2 cups of chicken stock instead of the water and bouillon cubes. Nice and easy. I added a little bit of fresh cracked pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Fantastic! I had never made gravy before and this recipe seemed easy enough. It turned a fantastic color and had a wonderful flavor, it was a huge hit on the dinner the table. The only change i made was instead of using bouillon I used the turkey stock I made from boiling off the gizzards(livers excluded). I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
We didn't get it to the dark brown point but it was really good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Yummy gravy! Will use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States