Rich Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I loved this dish, the rest of the family wasnt' crazy about it though, so I only gave it 4. I used cream instead of 1/2 n 1/2, spicy italian sausage, removed from casings so it was groud up. Used parmesan instead of cheddar. I thought it was restaurant quality and very easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Loftis Rollins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I used to 2 boxes of Penne pasta for 6 people - 4 adults and 2 children and I served it with a ceasar salad. Had pasta noodels left over but that was Ok I don't like to have to little. I would rather have left overs. Used 2 cans of diced tomatoes, 1 whole onion, added fresh basil from garden and marinara sauce, I used a pound of sausage. and only added a small amount of 1/2 and 1/2. Spooned it generously over the Pasta and it was really good, whole family liked it. Sprinkeled with parmesean not cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I found this totally bland and unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I LOVED this dish! Wasn't so sure how the different flavors would blend, but they do! I used stewed tomatoes with basil already added and broke up the tomatoes. I also used fat free half and half (the good brand) and you would not know the difference! I've passed this one on to friends and they love it! Thought that 12 oz. of pasta was a little too much for one recipe of sauce, but I like a lot of sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This was quick, easy to make, and very tasty. Great for a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great rosé sauce. All it needed was an extra pinch of dried thyme cooked in with the sausage, and an extra pinch of dried basil, simmered with the tomatoes for about five minutes before adding the half-'n'-half. Thanks for posting it. Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sutton, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Why do people write reviews when they change the recipe?? I think this recipe was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tonkawa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Add some fresh oregano, a bay leaf and a couple of chopped dried tomatoes - perks the flavor to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is a good idea to start out with. I used more sausage, a can of tomato sauce ( added a large chopped fresh tomato close to the end of cooking time) This solved the problem of having a runny sauce. Heavy cream if added slowly helps to hold the texture of this sauce as well. I spiced it up with garlic and basil and oregano. Too many changes to give it five stars, but a good recpipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I thought this recipe was great. I used cream cheese instead of half and half and crushed tomatoes because I didn't have stewed. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States