Rich Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I made the recipe exactly as written. It was really good. However I found that I like more garlic so added more the second time. Other than that, I have varied the sausage with hot and sweet Italian sausage and enjoy both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
My picky husband selected this recipe...DELISH! Picky kids ate it too! I used basil, garlic & oregano diced tomatoes because it was what I had on hand. Fat free 1/2 and 1/2, turkey sausage for healthier spin. Totally forgot about the cheddar cheese and nobody seemed to notice or care...(also healthier). Sauteed the onion in seperate pan and added celery and bell pepper to add to only the veggie eaters' plates...BRILLIANT! Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Great idea! I replaced the sausage and onion with chicken and orange pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was good. My family really liked it. However I had a pet accident in my kitchen. I would make this again but my husband got to my dish and he put his own spices in it, and lets just say one of my pets smells like the sause. Sorry, I can't give it more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellTell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I followed the customized version's suggestion of using a combination of cream cheese and sour cream. I also added: 1) 1 tsp. each: oregano, basil and dried red pepper flakes 2) Couple dashes of cayenne pepper 3) Salt and pepper 4) Chopped green pepper With the extra seasonings and the green pepper this recipe turned out great! This is definitely something I will make again. Delicious, fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cabo San Lucas, Baja California Sur, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Needed more liquid, but had a good taste. Will try to increase sauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Tip: Go ahead and use half and half. But temper it with some of the sauce before adding it to the main mixture. This prevents curdling. Smile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I followed other's advice and used cream cheese, rather than half-and-half. I also substituted chicken for the sausage and diced tomatoes for the stewed ones. This recipe was easy to make and tasted OK, but not superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This was ok. I reduced the heat and added the 1/2 and 1/2 and it immediately curdled. Not very appetizing. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Tim says add tomato paste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States