Rich Pasta for the Poor Kitchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This is a very good recipe I found after seeing something similar on tv. To simplify it further, you can cook your noodles, drain them and reserve a little bit of the noodle water in your final serving dish. To that water add your butter, spices, and the refrigerated garlic. Now mix in the still hot pasta and your leafy green thing of choice (I use either a little raw basil or a lot of raw spinach depending) into the buttery mix. The leaves wilt and the butter melts and you can toss it in its final serving dish. Cheese can go in now, or later on the side at the table (I use asiago, a little goes a long way and it keeps forever).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This was one of the first recipes I got from this site, and I have been making it for about 5 or 6 years. It is a very basic recipe that can be served with almost any meat dish---I like to pair it with grilled chicken breasts. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I loved this! It was great! We didn't use as much garlic though, and I added two cups of water and some mozzerella (shredded) to it too and it was fantastic! The hubby and I were both starving, and not wanting to spend a lot of time on dinner, and the weather being so hot, it was perfect, simple, and tasted great! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This is a very simple yet delicious recipe. The only real change I made (and it's an addition, not really a change) is to toast some fresh bread crumbs (I keep a bag of them in the freezer) and sprinkle them on top. I may add some sliced green onions and chopped fresh tomatoes as suggested by another reviewer next time I make it. Definitely use freshly grated Parmesana Reggiano for the best results. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Easy, simple and humble, a “take for granted” pasta dish that has been a staple in my diet my whole life. (And, I suspect, that of many other Italians as well) I like a combination of olive oil and butter and don't find it necessary to measure anything. Cook to taste, adding some reserved, starchy, pasta cooking water if necessary to make this creamy and moist, particularly if you toss the pasta with the cheese before serving rather than sprinkling it on upon serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
It's ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
SO FABULOUS! I didn't even have the fresh parsley, but this tastes straight out of a delicious restaurant! LOVE IT! Thanks so much for the recipe. Can't wait to try it again with parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slattekm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
i liked this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was very good, add some shrimp and you've got a great spaghetti scampi. I didn't add shrimp, but I did add about 1 1/2 cups of frozen peas for a little color and texture. Hubby said he didn't think the peas were going to work, but they did. Thanks for a recipe with ingredients that just about every pantry has available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Very good. I have made this and added chopped roma tomatoes and a dash of olive oil. Then, also, I have added chopped tomatoes and heavy cream to make a "pink pasta". Also, I love onions so I like to add a dash of onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States