Rich Pasta for the Poor Kitchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is really good! My five year old gobbled it up, and he doesn't like pasta. He then again ate the leftovers for lunch the next day, and he doesn't like leftovers either. Big hit! I did not have fresh parsley and used dry, I didn't use cayenne pepper since we don't like spicy foods, and I didn't have parmesan so I used mozzarella instead, worked fine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
My family and I loved it! And it's sooo simple that I was able to make it, and I am only 13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I don't use the parsley but if I have one on hand I squeeze fresh lemon juice into the butter and some capers right before adding in the pasta. Basic and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Easy, simple and humble, a “take for granted” pasta dish that has been a staple in my diet my whole life. (And, I suspect, that of many other Italians as well) I like a combination of olive oil and butter and don't find it necessary to measure anything. Cook to taste, adding some reserved, starchy, pasta cooking water if necessary to make this creamy and moist, particularly if you toss the pasta with the cheese before serving rather than sprinkling it on upon serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is such a wonderful, basic recipe for delicious pasta that will go with anything. The only change I made was to add some olive oil because I used much less butter. That was because of our age, not necessarily because of the taste. If I were still young it would have been butter all the way!!! This is nice and simple & so fresh tasting. All one needs is meat or fish and some veggies to make this a wonderful complete meal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I've made this recipe several times, and have passed it on. It's so good! I have modified it a bit per the other reviews. I add a lot of freshly diced tomato (I love tomato). I add a splash of heavy cream and a bit of cornstarch to make a bit more of a sauce, and do more garlic and spices than called for.. Overall, it's delcious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
A version of this was a staple at our house growing up. Mom made it for us when she was cooking something that Dad liked but us kids wouldn't eat. She just tossed cooked spaghetti in melted butter and added grated Parmesan to taste in our bowls for each of us. We loved it. I think it was easier for her to make this specially for us than argue all through dinner trying to get us to eat what she cooked for Dad. This is a bit more sophisticated with the garlic and cayenne. But leave those out (salt and black pepper are optional), and add as little or as much cheese as the kids want. I still make this for myself when I'm dining alone. These ingredients are always on hand at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
A big hit!! Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My picky daughter said it's the best thing she has ever tasted!!! Thank you for this easy and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
5 stars. This dish was awesome! So simple yet so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States