Rich Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I made this gravy for my thanksgiving meal. I usually host for about 20 people, most who travel by plane to get to our house which leaves me with the entire menu and cooking. It was wonderful, flavor was no different than if I had made it the same day but what a time saver. I only wish I would have had this years ago. Will definatley do this again for the upcoming holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fantastic. I gave it 4 stars because it's alot of work and you buy extra meat that you wouldn't need if making the day of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I keep thinking that this was so much work that I probably won't do it again, but then every time I taste the gravy, I think, "Well..." It was fantastic!!!!! I did need some extra thickening help, so I mixed some flour into some extra chicken broth and mixed that in. On the other hand, I am new to gravy-making, so I can only assume that the need in the first place was due to something that I did wrong. Either way, it was delicious and got rave reviews all around! I was also able to cut up the turkey meat from the wings and make a yummy turkey salad, as the gravy didn't need another thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I am not a gravy person but this was fantastic! Yes it does take a long time, but I was able to cook other things during the down time. I also was not able to find turkey wings so I used legs (3) and I found a package of necks! Wow what luck necks! Other than that I cut the recipe to 6- and like the others said I should of keep it at 32! Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Hubby loves this gravy!!! I had to hurry and freeze it so he wouldn't eat it all! BUT it is time consuming and you have to dirty so many dishes! I knew that from reviews so I was prepared but still surprised when it took the better part of the day to finish. I made it exactly by recipe except I added more water to be able to cover the wings completely throughout the 45 minute simmering. I also froze the left over broth because it is so rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane55

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Wow, that was a lot of work for gravy. I had to double it because I was having 17 people over for Thanksgiving. Followed everything else exactly but after a half dozen pots and pans, and a garbage nearly filled with turkey wing parts and vegetable remnants, hopefully this will be a 4 hours well spent. (Actually closer to 5). It tastes better than anything canned so hopefully this will earn me kudos at Thanksgiving. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I agree with the others that this does take some time to put together. I wound up with 8 cups of beautiful gravy. I did not have dry white wine, so I used white cooking wine. I felt that while this flavor added a richness to the gravy, that it overpowered the gravy a little too much for me. I would try this again sometime, but would substitute turkey or chicken stock for the white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
OK, so I'm a few days ahead of Thanksgiving 2013. But my gravy is made and in the freezer, loving it. Blended all the veggies in the gravy and I am just waiting for the day to arrive. This gravy is so easy (on a day with nothing else to do, maybe doing my washing) and the house smells very good. I used thighs this year. Made a sandwich spread with the nice flavored meats, so that is another plus. I will always use this recipe. Thank you ever so much benwa, I am still getting kudos for last years gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
First online review I've ever written because this recipe is fantastic! Last year I was exhausted and smelly by the time I was done making the gravy before Thanksgiving dinner. And for all my efforts the gravy was just so so. This year I hoped to change up my game and made this recipe 3 days in advance then froze it and hoped for the best. I doubled the amount and I had plenty of gravy (I had 25 for dinner). The consistency was very velvety and smooth. I used thighs instead of wings and got very little fat, but I thought that to be a good thing. It reheated beautifully and I received many compliments. It tasted very good and it was such a pleasureto have that step of dinner completed, made things much easier. Will make again and again and share this recipe with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was a first attempt at making gravy. Seemed "pretty easy" but I was not going to attempt this on Thanksgiving Day. I liked this recipe due to the addition of the wine; mainly because using wine makes up for not using any salt. I used fresh Thyme from my garden, homemade butter and home made broth- all salt free. The flour I used was High Maize so I could up the fiber content of the gravy. I am so pleased with this recipe (and myself for not ruining it!) that I am going to make a few batches to keep on hand in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States