Rich Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a really delicious gravy. I re-sized the recipe to 12, and my gravy came out a little thin, so I had to do the cornstarch thing. I'd adjust the fat/flour upwards even when sizing downwards in the future (and sometimes you just can't get exactly 3 lbs of meat without making a special request!) I'd never used wine in gravy before and I really liked it. Thanks for the recipe, this will be a hit this Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was a first attempt at making gravy. Seemed "pretty easy" but I was not going to attempt this on Thanksgiving Day. I liked this recipe due to the addition of the wine; mainly because using wine makes up for not using any salt. I used fresh Thyme from my garden, homemade butter and home made broth- all salt free. The flour I used was High Maize so I could up the fiber content of the gravy. I am so pleased with this recipe (and myself for not ruining it!) that I am going to make a few batches to keep on hand in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
First online review I've ever written because this recipe is fantastic! Last year I was exhausted and smelly by the time I was done making the gravy before Thanksgiving dinner. And for all my efforts the gravy was just so so. This year I hoped to change up my game and made this recipe 3 days in advance then froze it and hoped for the best. I doubled the amount and I had plenty of gravy (I had 25 for dinner). The consistency was very velvety and smooth. I used thighs instead of wings and got very little fat, but I thought that to be a good thing. It reheated beautifully and I received many compliments. It tasted very good and it was such a pleasureto have that step of dinner completed, made things much easier. Will make again and again and share this recipe with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very messy and time consuming but worth the effort. I did use Asti (dessert wine) because I'm not a fan of dry white wine. Also, I used "Chicken Stock" for the chicken broth. In addition, I used 3/4 cup of this for "Awesome Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing" to sub for the 3/4 cup turkey stock needed for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Everyone loved this gravy. Well worth the effort to make ahead and not have the last minute frenzy of making gravy from the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was fantastic and worked out wonderfully! I will use this recipe every year for a wonderful gravy that eliminates the last minute hassle. Followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I left out the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I am so grateful for this recipe as I struggle every year to "get the gravy done"! We are attending a Turkey Fry party this year and friends will be deep frying our bird so I was forced to make my gravy ahead of time and boy am I glad I did! "Rich" is an understatement! I did add a little Rosemary when I added the Thyme but that is the only change I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
A little work intensive, but worth it in the long run. I had to make a few revisions. I used a 1/2 a turkey breast as my local market didn't have wings OR legs, which made for less fat at the end. I used a whole stick of butter to substitue and spelt flour for wheat allergic family members. I think that gave it a nice, earthy flavor. I also kept the onions from the roasting in the gravy for continued flavor. I also used lots of fresh thyme as it grows in my kitchen. I will keep and use this recipe again. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I tried this recipe last Thanksgiving and was so pleased that it's on the menu again this year. It's a bit time consuming, but the results are worth it. And, since you can do it days ahead, the time spent isn't that big a deal. The family voted it best gravy ever. I used some of the meat in the gravy, and also in dressing casseroles that I put together while the main bird was in the oven. Big time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
OK, so I'm a few days ahead of Thanksgiving 2013. But my gravy is made and in the freezer, loving it. Blended all the veggies in the gravy and I am just waiting for the day to arrive. This gravy is so easy (on a day with nothing else to do, maybe doing my washing) and the house smells very good. I used thighs this year. Made a sandwich spread with the nice flavored meats, so that is another plus. I will always use this recipe. Thank you ever so much benwa, I am still getting kudos for last years gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States