Rich Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a really delicious gravy. I re-sized the recipe to 12, and my gravy came out a little thin, so I had to do the cornstarch thing. I'd adjust the fat/flour upwards even when sizing downwards in the future (and sometimes you just can't get exactly 3 lbs of meat without making a special request!) I'd never used wine in gravy before and I really liked it. Thanks for the recipe, this will be a hit this Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
A little work intensive, but worth it in the long run. I had to make a few revisions. I used a 1/2 a turkey breast as my local market didn't have wings OR legs, which made for less fat at the end. I used a whole stick of butter to substitue and spelt flour for wheat allergic family members. I think that gave it a nice, earthy flavor. I also kept the onions from the roasting in the gravy for continued flavor. I also used lots of fresh thyme as it grows in my kitchen. I will keep and use this recipe again. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was fantastic and worked out wonderfully! I will use this recipe every year for a wonderful gravy that eliminates the last minute hassle. Followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I left out the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Everyone loved this gravy. Well worth the effort to make ahead and not have the last minute frenzy of making gravy from the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I tried this recipe last Thanksgiving and was so pleased that it's on the menu again this year. It's a bit time consuming, but the results are worth it. And, since you can do it days ahead, the time spent isn't that big a deal. The family voted it best gravy ever. I used some of the meat in the gravy, and also in dressing casseroles that I put together while the main bird was in the oven. Big time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I am so grateful for this recipe as I struggle every year to "get the gravy done"! We are attending a Turkey Fry party this year and friends will be deep frying our bird so I was forced to make my gravy ahead of time and boy am I glad I did! "Rich" is an understatement! I did add a little Rosemary when I added the Thyme but that is the only change I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very messy and time consuming but worth the effort. I did use Asti (dessert wine) because I'm not a fan of dry white wine. Also, I used "Chicken Stock" for the chicken broth. In addition, I used 3/4 cup of this for "Awesome Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing" to sub for the 3/4 cup turkey stock needed for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was a first attempt at making gravy. Seemed "pretty easy" but I was not going to attempt this on Thanksgiving Day. I liked this recipe due to the addition of the wine; mainly because using wine makes up for not using any salt. I used fresh Thyme from my garden, homemade butter and home made broth- all salt free. The flour I used was High Maize so I could up the fiber content of the gravy. I am so pleased with this recipe (and myself for not ruining it!) that I am going to make a few batches to keep on hand in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
First online review I've ever written because this recipe is fantastic! Last year I was exhausted and smelly by the time I was done making the gravy before Thanksgiving dinner. And for all my efforts the gravy was just so so. This year I hoped to change up my game and made this recipe 3 days in advance then froze it and hoped for the best. I doubled the amount and I had plenty of gravy (I had 25 for dinner). The consistency was very velvety and smooth. I used thighs instead of wings and got very little fat, but I thought that to be a good thing. It reheated beautifully and I received many compliments. It tasted very good and it was such a pleasureto have that step of dinner completed, made things much easier. Will make again and again and share this recipe with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
OK, so I'm a few days ahead of Thanksgiving 2013. But my gravy is made and in the freezer, loving it. Blended all the veggies in the gravy and I am just waiting for the day to arrive. This gravy is so easy (on a day with nothing else to do, maybe doing my washing) and the house smells very good. I used thighs this year. Made a sandwich spread with the nice flavored meats, so that is another plus. I will always use this recipe. Thank you ever so much benwa, I am still getting kudos for last years gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States