Rich Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
First, let me say I have never , ever made gravy that didn't come from a jar or powder mix. This turned out great. Reminded me of my Gram's gravy. I'd give it 4.5 stars, as I thought it needed some other seasoning beside S&P, but I don't know what would improve the taste. This will definately be tradition from now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I am so grateful for this recipe as I struggle every year to "get the gravy done"! We are attending a Turkey Fry party this year and friends will be deep frying our bird so I was forced to make my gravy ahead of time and boy am I glad I did! "Rich" is an understatement! I did add a little Rosemary when I added the Thyme but that is the only change I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
A little work intensive, but worth it in the long run. I had to make a few revisions. I used a 1/2 a turkey breast as my local market didn't have wings OR legs, which made for less fat at the end. I used a whole stick of butter to substitue and spelt flour for wheat allergic family members. I think that gave it a nice, earthy flavor. I also kept the onions from the roasting in the gravy for continued flavor. I also used lots of fresh thyme as it grows in my kitchen. I will keep and use this recipe again. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is 5-Star Restaurant kind of Gravy! The only reason that I'm giving this a 4 instead of a 5 is because you need to change your recipe description to warn that this isn't for beginning cooks. The instructions nor ingredients aren't difficult, but this took me (an ntermediate cook) over four hours, and five pots/pans/bowls, to complete. Scrumptious! Delicous! Best ever gravy! But a LOT of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Ballard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The best gravy ever. I used turkey thighs and turkey broth instead of chicken, and added garlic to the roasting pan, but did not make any other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This recipe was a life saver for me, I struggle with gravy and get so stressed out! I made this the day before Thanksgiving as I was prepping as much as I could for the meal. It roasted and simmered for hours and the house smelled just like a glorious turkey was in the oven. I did add some poultry seasoning to the blend. The gravy came out awesomely delicious and all I did at serving time was reheat in a saucepan and whisked in a spoonful or two of the turkey drippings from the roasting pan. Excellent recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I scaled this back to 6 because there were only 4 of us. I wish I'd kept it at 10 or 12 because for all the work this took to prepare, I got only about 1.5 cups gravy! I ended up having to add a package of gravy mix and additional pan drippings in. However! Having said that, it was easily the best gravy I have ever tasted! I used most of a small Butterball turkey I had in the freezer (could not find wings anywhere!) but still did not get a lot of fat out of it. I had to use a lot of butter. SO, because I cannot seem to make gravy out of turkey drippings, I will probably use this recipe again. It did get rave reviews, but it was a lot of work, even when prepping the day before the big meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a really delicious gravy. I re-sized the recipe to 12, and my gravy came out a little thin, so I had to do the cornstarch thing. I'd adjust the fat/flour upwards even when sizing downwards in the future (and sometimes you just can't get exactly 3 lbs of meat without making a special request!) I'd never used wine in gravy before and I really liked it. Thanks for the recipe, this will be a hit this Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very messy and time consuming but worth the effort. I did use Asti (dessert wine) because I'm not a fan of dry white wine. Also, I used "Chicken Stock" for the chicken broth. In addition, I used 3/4 cup of this for "Awesome Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing" to sub for the 3/4 cup turkey stock needed for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was fantastic and worked out wonderfully! I will use this recipe every year for a wonderful gravy that eliminates the last minute hassle. Followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I left out the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States