Rich Macaroni and Tomato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
This was pretty good. Next time I'll use more bacon and sauce it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
Very good, reminded me of Pastitsio a bit. Also reminded everyone of lasagna, except it was a lot easier for me, especially the cream sauce, what a snap! Definitely keeping this one on file
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This wasn't great but it wasn't bad. I'm not sure where the cream mixture went to because none of it melded well. It tastes like macaroni and pasta sauce with cheese (best part) on top. It was easy though, and a good way to get ride of left overs (used left over bacon and smoked ham). I would recomend it as a quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
This is one of my new favotite pasta dishes. It tasted like lasanya without the hassle. It was so easy to make. I never had bacon in a pasta dish before this. I am glad I tried it with the bacon. I made it exactly as stated. It turned out perfect. My picky husband and 6 year old loved it. My daughter said I have to male this again, and believe me I will. I highly recommend you try this if you like lasanya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I wasn't too impressed. It tasted to me like an "adult version" of Spaghetti O's. Not enough flavor for me. I may try it again, but will have to add many many many more spices and/or flavor to make it more than noddles with a tomato cream sauce....which is really all that it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
We really liked this, however, we did make some modifications based on other reviews. We used Classico Spicy Red Pepper Pasta Sauce to give this extra kick. Rather than using bacon, we used hamburger. We doubled the heavy cream and milk to keep everything more moist. With these changes it was great! We will definitely be having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Mommy of Twins Plus 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Wellington, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
In all honesty, I didn't eat this. Several others at the wake did though, and everyone raved about it. I'm only giving it 4 stars though because it did like a curdle-y thing that made everyone think that the sauce was some form of beef that roughly resembled canned dog food. Seriously, it looked pretty bad. I doubled the recipe though, and it was all eaten, so I don't know what tweaks, if any, it could have used. Oh, I didn't realize that I didn't have bacon though, so I used pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I used vegetarian bacon and pepperoni in place of the traditional bacon. However, my sauce didn't curdle like some other reviewers mentioned. However, I thought it needed some salt (maybe thats because I didn't use real bacon). Everyone liked this recipe, although my husband couldn't eat too much because he thought it was too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
this was a pretty decent recipe.i added extra milk to it for moisture.and less pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancing_earth77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
wonderful meal, though i edited it a bit myself, used 2 jars of ragu cheese sauce, with a large can of diced tomatoes, with a small can of mushrooms, me, my hubby and my near 3 year old daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragon Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States