Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I've always loved the zuppa toscana soup at the Olive Garden, this was similar but this was better. I used ground sausage which made it even easier, and it turned out wonderful. The whole family loved it even my 3 yr old. This is definetly one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
I changed it a little, but only to make it easier. It tasted the same. I used 1 (32 oz) box of chicken broth, and I used 1 bag of little potatoes cut in half. My 6 kids, ages 7,11,16,18,21, and 23 ALL loved it and my husband told me it was the best soup he's had in his life. This is the same husband who loves my corn chowder, my split pea soup with ham, and my ham and cheddar cheese soup. My own soups are all good and usually get me compliments and requests for my recipes, but I must admit this soup is better than any of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I really enjoyed this soup. It takes almost like Olive Garden's zuppa toscana soup. I decided to use 3 cans of chicken broth and used about a cup of heavy cream. I also added more potatoes & it was great. I thought the soup had a really good flavor. Nothing lacking for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
My girlfriend was visiting for the weekend and made this soup for the two of us. We visited the local Italian deli which set us up with some great sausage and pancetta bacon. I can't judge how easy or hard the soup was to make, but our only regret was that we hadn't made a double batch. A tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I didn't change a thing about this recipe! It was wonderful. I think you really have to use Kale because it hold up well in the heat. Perfect recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This is good - I really loved the kale in it. I used regular bacon because thats what I had. I found the soup a bit bland and not as thick as I would have liked. Added lots of salt and pepper, some fresh parsley, red pepper, and basil. Next time, I'll try pureeing half of the soup while it's at the potato stage to thicken it. My husbad and sons loved it, so it looks like there will be a next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I really love the Olive Garden version of this soup, and I have to agree with the reviewers who said that this version lacks something. I added extra potatoes and then added some basil and black pepper to kick it up, but it still needs something more. I used regular Italian sausage, and using hot/spicy sausage might do the trick, so I'll try that next time. It's a great recipe to start with though and is very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is a lot like zuppa tuscana soup, but a little more bland. I added some crushed red pepper, and some hot Italian sausage. The pancetta had a nice flavor, but I like more bacon in the soup. Good, but I'll stick with the other version. Thanks for sharing your version Holly. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Extremely easy to make and delicious!! Used half the sausage (ground) and twice the potatoes as some had suggested! Mmm, Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kane, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
this reciepe is exectly like the olive gargens soup delissious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States