Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2000
My girlfriend was visiting for the weekend and made this soup for the two of us. We visited the local Italian deli which set us up with some great sausage and pancetta bacon. I can't judge how easy or hard the soup was to make, but our only regret was that we hadn't made a double batch. A tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
If this is the same Holly that is in my Bookstudy group - well she made this soup last night along with someone else making great!!!! tortilla soup. And the tortilla soup I ate very little of because I had second helping of this soup. Good soup on a wintry evening w/sourdough rosemary bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Very good recipe for a great flavor. I made it for Valentines dinner as an appetizer, my family love it, the only thing I did different is I peeled the sausages and cooked them on the stove like when you make ground beef. Then I drained the fat and mixed it with the soup. I also added four tablespoons of white starch to add a little be of consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This is a lot like zuppa tuscana soup, but a little more bland. I added some crushed red pepper, and some hot Italian sausage. The pancetta had a nice flavor, but I like more bacon in the soup. Good, but I'll stick with the other version. Thanks for sharing your version Holly. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
AWESOME RECIPE!!! My aunt found this on your site while trying to recreate an Olive Garden favorite of hers. In order to lower the fat content I used (hot) turkey italian sausage links and substituted olive oil for the bacon slice. I also used Swanson's chicken broth w italian seasoning in place of bullion water. Turned out just as good as her batch following the recipe! I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Very similar to the other Olive Garden type soups available on the site, however I thought this was lacking something. In the end, I added fresh black pepper and added a lot more heavy cream. Will stick with the Tuscan Soup recipe from this site. Also, cut up the sausage links with scissors and cooked in the pot instead of baking to save a step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I really like this recipe. However, I would use half the sausage and twice the potatoes! Also, used chicken broth rather than the bullion. I added a little more salt and parmesan as well. Also, this was more flavorful the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This was a very good starting point to a great soup. I also thought it was a little bland, and added some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
I changed it a little, but only to make it easier. It tasted the same. I used 1 (32 oz) box of chicken broth, and I used 1 bag of little potatoes cut in half. My 6 kids, ages 7,11,16,18,21, and 23 ALL loved it and my husband told me it was the best soup he's had in his life. This is the same husband who loves my corn chowder, my split pea soup with ham, and my ham and cheddar cheese soup. My own soups are all good and usually get me compliments and requests for my recipes, but I must admit this soup is better than any of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I've always loved the zuppa toscana soup at the Olive Garden, this was similar but this was better. I used ground sausage which made it even easier, and it turned out wonderful. The whole family loved it even my 3 yr old. This is definetly one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States