Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I used half & half instead of the heavy cream and added a touch of salt and dill to taste. Hearty and super yummy soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *perky*clo
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
AwEsOmE !! Great easy homemade version of Olive Garden's Zuppa Tuscana soup ! I cut up the sausage (1 lb of hot, 1 lb of mild) & just cooked it in the soup pot with the onions. I doubled the recipe to have leftovers (yum!). The heavy cream definitely is a must for this, if you can have it & the kale is better than spinach if you want it to be like OG's. I topped it with extra crispy crumbled-up bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *perky*clo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I am not really a fan of Italian sausage, but I did enjoy this soup. I used spicy sausage and about 3 slices of regular bacon. I would have liked less Italian sausage and more bacon, personally. I julienned the potatoes, used two bouillon cubes and added a little pepper. The julienned potatoes turned out to be a great idea as I could thicken up the soup a bit by crushing them. I will make this again with regular Italian sausage and less, adding more bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I used ground Italian sausage from my local market and Yukon gold potatoes. YUM :) The Olive Garden's Zuppa Toscana is my favorite and it tastes just like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Yes, this is like the Olive Garden soup I always get!!! Took advise of others and added more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opheliamiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was excellent!! I don't cook a lot and this was my first time trying this recipe, but it still turned out fantastic. Recipe was easy to follow and dish was a big hit. I did follow some of the other commenter's suggestions in terms of using baby potatos for ease and I also used a bit more bacon for a bit more taste. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. Will surely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was EASY and FABULOUS! I didn't have heavy cream so I used whole milk and a can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This soup is easy to make and quite delicious. I too wanted something similar to Olive Garden's soup. This fits the bill. I have saved it to my recipe box and also sent it to friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turquois03
Home Town: Reedley, California, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
My family has never eaten kale before I made this soup and it was delicious! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This stoup was fantastic. Yes, I said stoup, because I decided I wanted a very hearty lunch, so I added one bunch of kale and one bunch of regular swiss chard. I also browned the sausage in my soup pot until almost done, added the onions and bacon and cooked them down to very brown with stuff sticking onto the bottom of the pan. Once nicely browned, I added the chicken stock, but increased it to 8 cups to compensate for the extra kale. I added the potatoes and cooked uncovered until almost cooked soft. Add the kale & swiss chard and cook for 5-10 minutes, depending on your preference. My husband said this was the best soup I've ever cooked. And gluten friendly (not including the cream as most celiacs can't have dairy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Gresham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States