Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I spent three hours trying to choose a recipe with turkey sausage and spinach, possibly tomatoes. Nothing in this recipe! But I knew with some modification of the ingredients it might be a winner. It was! Delish! I cooked it years ago keeping most of the original recipe but again subbing spinach, cause we always have so much. The original or with a couple subs, always amazing. I added more potatoes than called for, because I prefer more like a stew, and then a ton of herbs just cause they make a good thing even better. Also, tonight didn't have any cream on hand so used 2% milk, added at the same time as the potatoes to cook down. Worked out perfectly. Next I'm going to figure this one out in the crockpot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella Vendetta
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Awesome soup! Very rich and perfect just the way it is!! Everyone in my house loved it- even the kids. I did change a couple things though: I didn't have bacon so I left that out and I didn't have heavy cream so I substituted it with milk and butter. This was AMAZING- seriously the best soup in a LONG time! I was very tempted to alter it and add more seasoning but I didn't- not even salt and I'm glad I left it alone. I would highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This Soup Is amazing! !!!! I double the potatoes, add more heavy cream, used bacon instead of pancetta, and still amazing! !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Farris
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I added about 3-4 tablespoons of Alfredo sauce. It really seemed to give it that missing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Farris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I love this recipe. the only thing I did different was add a ton more potatoes (6 in total). because honestly 2 seemed pretty lame. I think it could have used a few more too. My husband liked it a lot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Seelig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Instead of 4 cups water I used chicken stock and I also used a full pint of cream... Absolute perfection.try adding spicy Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have made this twice, and I'll be making it again. The first time, I followed the recipe but substituted bacon for pancetta. I also used my stick blender to purée some of the potatoes before I added the final ingredients. It helped thicken the soup. The second time, I used leftover ham in place of both the bacon and sausage. Delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Increased the onion to one large onion and the pancetta to about 3/4 cup. Really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Lynn Gaug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacob Moore
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I decided to use some Italian ground sausage instead, because it was cheaper at the time. I read some reviews that it was a bit bland, so I put twice as much garlic, some medley of Italian herbs that I had sitting in a pantry, some oregano, and a bit of red pepper flakes. The ground sausage probably introduced more flavor into the broth compared to the links, I'd presume. It turned out really well. I've always loved kale in soup, it always adds that extra level of texture that elevates the soup to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States