Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My husband really loved this soup! I changed it up a bit by using spinach instead of kale; I didn't have any. Rather than cooking the sausage in the oven I browned and cooked it in a pan. I also added a little chili flake to the soup to give it a bit of a kick because my husband likes food a little spicy. Next time I will probably just use hot Italian sausage. I also added more potatoes; I think next time I will mashed some of the potatoes to make the soup a little thicker before adding the sausage and spinach into the soup. The day I made it I thought it was just ok; but when I reheated it the next day I loved it all of the flavors had blended together nicely. My husband has already requested that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I really liked this soup, as did the rest of the family. I see that several people complained that it was bland, but it may have to do with the type of sausage that was used. I used a mild sausage, as I have little ones who don't like spicy, but I took the sausage out of the casing, broke it up in the pot, and then sauteed it. I did not add bacon, as there was enough fat in the sausage. I also used a really good chicken base ( I prefer the better than bouillon brand). It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Yum! Though something was lacking, maybe extra butter? Also, a nice substitute was sweet Italian sausage, removed from the casing, and browned in a skillet before adding to the soup. Overall great recipe. I can eat the leftovers everyday for lunch till they run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole9z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great recipe! My family loved it. I used Hot Italian sausage to give it a bit of a bite because my family prefers spicy, and I used white potatoes because they are firmer when cubed and cooked. Regular russets have a tendency to turn to mush when cooked. But otherwise it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Great soup - whole family loved it!! For extra flavor, definitely use the Spicy Italian sausage, plus I added an extra bouillon cube, Italian seasoning, Garlic salt, and Seasoned pepper, then served with a pinch of shredded parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I added a lot more kale than the recipe called for since I really like kale and used red onions for color. Turned out FABULOUS!!!! I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! It will be a repeater!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Great recipe! I too, love the Olive Garden Zuppa Tuscana soup, and this one is even better w/ a homemade touch. I boil the roasted chicken bones from one of those $4.99 Costco chickens after using the meat, and make the stock for this soup. It just adds a richer taste than water. I use a non-MSG bouillon. Sometimes I add red bell pepper (for color) when I saute the sausage (no nitrate/nitrite sausage from New Seasons-I like Hot Italian Sausage, or add red chile pepper seeds to mild sausage), half and half if I don't have cream, and 1 slice of regular bacon if I don't have the pancetta. 2-3 garlic to my taste. Roasted red pepper in the jar-either pickled or plain would work here, too. My daughter and grandson both loved this soup. If you don't see enough of the kids and grandkids, invite them to dinner! If I don't have kale, I have used arugula or chard from the garden. Here in Oregon, it grows all winter long out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The soup definitely needed some seasoning. I added some salt,pepper, and chives and used smoked bacon instead of pancetta. I addesd a small sprinkle of Nutmeg and some chopped parsley on top of each bowl of soup before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
It was easy to make. First time trying out kale and I don't like it! I'm sure you can sub the kale or add no greenery. Will mash some of the potatoes for a heartier/thicker soup. I added a dash of pepper and jarred red bellppepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
only one thing to say "YUMMY"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States