Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bella Vendetta
Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Awesome soup! Very rich and perfect just the way it is!! Everyone in my house loved it- even the kids. I did change a couple things though: I didn't have bacon so I left that out and I didn't have heavy cream so I substituted it with milk and butter. This was AMAZING- seriously the best soup in a LONG time! I was very tempted to alter it and add more seasoning but I didn't- not even salt and I'm glad I left it alone. I would highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
This Soup Is amazing! !!!! I double the potatoes, add more heavy cream, used bacon instead of pancetta, and still amazing! !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Farris
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I added about 3-4 tablespoons of Alfredo sauce. It really seemed to give it that missing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Farris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I love this recipe. the only thing I did different was add a ton more potatoes (6 in total). because honestly 2 seemed pretty lame. I think it could have used a few more too. My husband liked it a lot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Instead of 4 cups water I used chicken stock and I also used a full pint of cream... Absolute perfection.try adding spicy Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have made this twice, and I'll be making it again. The first time, I followed the recipe but substituted bacon for pancetta. I also used my stick blender to purée some of the potatoes before I added the final ingredients. It helped thicken the soup. The second time, I used leftover ham in place of both the bacon and sausage. Delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Increased the onion to one large onion and the pancetta to about 3/4 cup. Really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Lynn Gaug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacob Moore
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I decided to use some Italian ground sausage instead, because it was cheaper at the time. I read some reviews that it was a bit bland, so I put twice as much garlic, some medley of Italian herbs that I had sitting in a pantry, some oregano, and a bit of red pepper flakes. The ground sausage probably introduced more flavor into the broth compared to the links, I'd presume. It turned out really well. I've always loved kale in soup, it always adds that extra level of texture that elevates the soup to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My husband really loved this soup! I changed it up a bit by using spinach instead of kale; I didn't have any. Rather than cooking the sausage in the oven I browned and cooked it in a pan. I also added a little chili flake to the soup to give it a bit of a kick because my husband likes food a little spicy. Next time I will probably just use hot Italian sausage. I also added more potatoes; I think next time I will mashed some of the potatoes to make the soup a little thicker before adding the sausage and spinach into the soup. The day I made it I thought it was just ok; but when I reheated it the next day I loved it all of the flavors had blended together nicely. My husband has already requested that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States