Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was really good. I didn't have the pancetta or the kale, so I substituted regular bacon and cabbage which I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Rave reviews from my husband! I only made a couple of changes. After reading reviews that the recipe was missing "something" I figured I'd throw in a tablespoon of fresh, snipped rosemary... a great addition! Also, since my husband is allergic to dairy I used soy cream, which worked fine. Definitely give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Really easy and taste great. I added ground Italian sausage, and cooked in on the stove top, with the onions, basil, and oregano. Added exstra pancetta bacon, chicken broth, and exstra cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
excellent base for the soup,but like a lot of others,I mixed it up a bit. I used ground Italian sausage and a kielbasa,still baked the same. I also added 2 more potatoes and pureed them,to get some thickness. Finally,I added a Tbls of chipped rep pepper for a kick. My 90 year old grand mother loved it,lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencer32221

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was a wonderful soup. I made cornbread with this, and it was the main course for a dinner. My family could not stop praising this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hempman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claymont, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
One of my most favorite soups! I use chicken stock instead of bouillon. I also use real bacon bits instead of actually frying up bacon. And last I use the entire carton of heavy cream not just a 1/3 cup. Wonderful tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laingsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made a few changes, used chicken broth rather than water and bouillon, bacon rather than pancetta. Once it was mostly done I tasted and it was bland. I added garlic powder and granulated bouillon and more cream. It was good enough that I will make it again but next time I'll use crispy fried bacon added at the end rather than the sausage and add more potatos and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
love this one. though i don't measure my ingredients, it comes out the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I LOVE this soup! I did however make a few changes. instead of baking sausage links, I fried a lb of mild italian sausage. instead of cubed potatoes, I sliced mine on a mandolin. instead of 1 piece of pancetta, I used 4 pieces of reagular bacon. I also added 1 tbsp of crushed red pepper & doubled the amount of cream. this soup turned out amazing! it tasted exactly like zuppa toscana from the olive garden. I will be making this soup again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terilatta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was a good recipe. I'm not sure what I did differently but it definitely took longer than 15 minutes to simmer the potatoes and I cut mine relatively thin. I also added more cream and allowed the pancetta, garlic, and onions to caramelize before adding the chicken broth. To me this seemed to an additional layer of much needed flavor. I will probably use less kale next time, and chop them up smaller. Overall a tasty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States