Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious soup! Used both sweet and hot sausage as I had some that needed to be used up. Doubled recipe which was great as my husband had it for both lunch and dinner. Next time as we like spicy I will likely stick with hot sausage. First time I have cooked with kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Fabulous soup. I used one whole onion, 6 diced potatoes, 4 pcs diced pancetta bacon, 4 cloves of garlic and 4 cups of julienne kale. It was terrific, and garnished with nice cracked black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Awesome soup...more like a chowder. I loaded up on potatoes, kale and sausage as my family likes a more hearty soup during the fall. Taste was wonderful...added a little extra Herbox bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very easy, tasty. My 3 yr old son gobbled it up, my very picky italian husband thought it was great but my even pickier 6 yr old daughter wouldn't touch it. We added a little salt and pepper, and of course some Parmesan cheese, like all good Italians do to their soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This recipe is delicious!!! I used 1/2# hot sausage and 1/2# sweet sausage...added just a little zip! I used 1/4# smoked bacon cause I couldn't find pancetta, really liked the smokey flavor it added. I will make this over and over again!!! Gayle in Warwick, RI p.s. anyone have any idea where to buy pancetta? do I have to go to a specialty store?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious. I browned hot Italian sausage, used chicken broth, and added an extra cup of kale. Left everything else the same. Definitely use the hot sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was a wonderful, hearty, savory soup. I used ground light sausage and rolled it into 1 inch sausage meatballs, browned them and added them at the end as instructed. I also substituted fat free half and half for the cream. I added sea salt and cracked pepper at the end to taste. It was great!! My husband loved it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
We have made this recipe several times. However, we increase all the ingredients and make a large stock pot full, so there are plenty of leftovers. We've added a few items, gave it a little kick and love it! I use the cut bacon instead of pancetta bacon, add sliced smoked kielbasa and sliced beef sausage. AND....we add Louisiana cajun seasoning. This is definitley not a low fat recipe, but it sure tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I doubled this recipe for leftovers. I used homemade turkey stock instead of bullion/water, and I also used turkey sausage. The kale came out of my garden and I used two different kinds- curly leaf and flat leaf that had lots of purple in it. It added nice variation of texture and color; I recommend it if you have different kinds available. One modification I would recommend is adding the cream once the soup is removed from the heat. Mine curdled a little from the high heat, and it was only at a gentle simmer. I also cooked the sausages in a pan over the stove- but that's not a real biggie as far as modifications go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Delicious! I'm sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenmouthstofeed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States