Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Yum! Though something was lacking, maybe extra butter? Also, a nice substitute was sweet Italian sausage, removed from the casing, and browned in a skillet before adding to the soup. Overall great recipe. I can eat the leftovers everyday for lunch till they run out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole9z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great recipe! My family loved it. I used Hot Italian sausage to give it a bit of a bite because my family prefers spicy, and I used white potatoes because they are firmer when cubed and cooked. Regular russets have a tendency to turn to mush when cooked. But otherwise it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maia Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Great soup - whole family loved it!! For extra flavor, definitely use the Spicy Italian sausage, plus I added an extra bouillon cube, Italian seasoning, Garlic salt, and Seasoned pepper, then served with a pinch of shredded parmesan cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I added a lot more kale than the recipe called for since I really like kale and used red onions for color. Turned out FABULOUS!!!! I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! It will be a repeater!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Great recipe! I too, love the Olive Garden Zuppa Tuscana soup, and this one is even better w/ a homemade touch. I boil the roasted chicken bones from one of those $4.99 Costco chickens after using the meat, and make the stock for this soup. It just adds a richer taste than water. I use a non-MSG bouillon. Sometimes I add red bell pepper (for color) when I saute the sausage (no nitrate/nitrite sausage from New Seasons-I like Hot Italian Sausage, or add red chile pepper seeds to mild sausage), half and half if I don't have cream, and 1 slice of regular bacon if I don't have the pancetta. 2-3 garlic to my taste. Roasted red pepper in the jar-either pickled or plain would work here, too. My daughter and grandson both loved this soup. If you don't see enough of the kids and grandkids, invite them to dinner! If I don't have kale, I have used arugula or chard from the garden. Here in Oregon, it grows all winter long out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
The soup definitely needed some seasoning. I added some salt,pepper, and chives and used smoked bacon instead of pancetta. I addesd a small sprinkle of Nutmeg and some chopped parsley on top of each bowl of soup before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
It was easy to make. First time trying out kale and I don't like it! I'm sure you can sub the kale or add no greenery. Will mash some of the potatoes for a heartier/thicker soup. I added a dash of pepper and jarred red bellppepper for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
only one thing to say "YUMMY"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Raymond Hyland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was AMAZING!! Way better than Olive Gardens Zuppa, which I love. I took the advice of some other reviewers and added more onion, garlic, and an extra slice of bacon. Also added basil, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, and fresh parsley. Added fresh parmesean to the soup and topped the soup with it when it was finished as well. SOOOOO GOOOD!!!!! Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Yum! I used spicy Italian sausage and I loved it! I also used regular bacon because I'm not sure what pancetta is. One warning, once you slice up the sausage, it's really hard to "set it aside." I nibbled the whole time the potatoes were cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States