Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Excellent....used hot turkey sausage, spinach instead of kale cause its what I had on hand....and used fat free half and half. Delicious....served with crusty garlic bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Fabulous. My husband raved over this which he rarely does. I added some grill seasoning and a pinch of curry as well as half a thinly sliced red pepper. I loved, loved, loved the texture of the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This soup is often requested @ my house.I usually don't have pancetta in the house,still good w/o. We like spicy here so I use hot sausage,add 1/2 teaspoon thyme and 1 teaspoon hot pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is one of the easiest and tastiest soups to make! I altered the recipe slightly by increasing some of the ingredients. I doubled the sausage required and omitted the pancetta. I also bought the sausage in bulk so there wasn't any sausage casings to deal with. I fried the sausage in a frying pan on the stove breaking the big chucks up with a potato masher. I then removed the sausage with a slotted spoon so I could leave the sausage drippings. I doubled the onions from the recipe as well; I sauteed the onions and garlic in the sausage drippings and then added them to potatoes that were cubed and cooked in vegetable broth. Again, I really increased the amount of potatoes; the recipe ask for 2 and I did about 10 medium sized potatoes. I didn't measure the vegetable broth; added just enough to cover all of the potatoes. Note when you cube potatoes if you cook them longer than 15 or so minutes they disintegrate so if you want a chunkier soup then you really need to keep your eye on your soup. I added the two cups of kale as instructed but I minced them since my kids aren't a big fan of kale and it really makes the recipe! Lastly I added half n half in place of heavy cream. My youngest who claims to HATE soup ate every last drop of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I think this is a good soup. I did make some additions though. I used 4 potatoes and 6 cups water. I used 2 chicken bouillon cubes. I also added 1 tsp chili powder, 1 tsp pepper, and 2 tsp nutmeg. It gave it a little more flavor and it wasn't very watery this way. I would have to say a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
We loved this soup. I used one can of chicken broth and added water to make 4 cups. I also used bulk sage pork sausage and added some celery. Finally, I used fat free half and half in place of the cream. Very good - make sure you season as you go along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nodaway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Illinois, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This recipe is outstanding! I used turkey bacon instead of pancetta because I needed to use it up, and I used quite a bit of it. I would not use regular bacon in the way this recipe is written--it won't crisp. Turkey bacon doesn't matter, because the fat in turkey bacon is just an illusion--the texture is solid all the way across. I also substituted fat free half and half for the heavy cream. I added red pepper flakes for heat, fennel seed because I just love any excuse to use it, and fresh Italian flat-leaf parsley because I need to use it up. I used a potato masher to smash some of the potatoes up to thicken the broth. I would make this soup again, doubling or tripling the batch, and doubling the kale recommended for any size of this recipe (it's quite tasty, but do be sure and not use the stems, even if you buy the bagged kale, strip it off the stems!). Thanks for the recipe, we loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is great everyone eats it before I can even have some! Fun to make easy and smells great I fallow the recipe exactly how its written, sometimes just a little extra sausage! But this is my favorite soup for the cold weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great soup. Added crushed red pepper and used 32 oz of chicken stock and 1/2 cup heavy cream. My husband, 10 yr old and 3 yr old all really liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States