Rich Herb and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Like some people recommended, I cut the lemon (even though I LOVE lemon), and it turned out wonderful. Still very lemony, but not overpowering. I couldn't get the sauce to thicken on its own, so I added a little cornstarch, and that worked well. I then tossed the sauce with some penne, and served the chicken on top. Very good, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mental jewelry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great taste if you follow the recommendations and only use one lemon. Otherwise, it's far too tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My 20 yearold daughter is addicted to this chicken, as a matter of fact I'm making it right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Missey Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and reduced the lemon juice to the juice of 1 fresh lemon, so about 1/4 cup. I also added 1 cup of sour cream instead of the 1/4 cup. It was perfect, not too lemony, but with a definite lemon taste and very creamy. We enjoyed it over penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Like many others I only used 1/4 cup lemon juice, but we thought the chicken had an odd chewy texture after such a long simmer. I used a light moscoto for a very flavorful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe is good but needs an adjustment to the lemon and sour cream amounts. The recipe calls for 1/2 a cup of lemon juice - as others have recommended I cut that to 1/4 cup and increased the sour cream to 1/2 cup. If you like a nice lemon taste while not overpowering please do this. If you prefer just a hint of lemon in the taste though you're going to want to cut the lemon juice down even further - a good juicy lemon gives you a 1/4 cup so if you prefer just a hint of lemon flavor I'd put in half a lemon's worth of juice which should give you the hint of lemon. I personally liked it with 1/4 cup but I don't think everyone will want the lemon to be that strong in the dish. You won't have to increase the sour cream again if you don't want because the sauce isn't really thick to start with unless you thicken it with cornstarch or flour. I served this with potatoes which was good. If you want to serve with pasta, you'll want to thicken the sauce as it is much too thin even when on the stove for an hour without adding the flour or cornstarch for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Like others have said, it has a very strong lemon taste - this may be due to me using bottled lemon juice which is usually *concentrated* in flavor. I left out the lemon zest. After simmering for 45 min, I tasted the sauce and thought it was very tangy, so I added grated parmesan and romano cheese to the sauce and chicken and continued to simmer for 15 more min - this did the trick! It mellowed the lemon in the sauce and helps to thicken it! This reminded me of some kind of Olive Garden dish. Other changes that I made was that I lightly floured my chicken breasts before browning - this helped to lightly thicken the sauce to a nice consistency while simmering. I will definately make this again with 1/2 the lemon juice next time. I would recommend that you give this a try - the dish has a good flavor and smells lovely while simmering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Thanks for sharing, this was delicious! Even better the next day. I did take another reviewer's suggestion and added parm cheese and reduced the lemon. I did not use lemon zest or sour cream, but plain FF yogurt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Pretty good. I think it would have been better with less milk in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My roomates and I loved this recipie though I halfed the recipie. I made a couple of changes as others suggested. Nixed the lemon zest and used fresh lemon juice not store bought,and doubled the sour cream it turned out great. I will cut the amount of lemon next time though because it was still a little too much lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States