Rich Herb and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
All the ingredients blended well together to have a nice flavor, but it was WAY to citrusy. I would cut it down to 1/4 cup lemon juice and maybe half the zest. It was just way too much. My tongue is still a bit raw. I would make this again but I would definately tweek it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Like others have said, it has a very strong lemon taste - this may be due to me using bottled lemon juice which is usually *concentrated* in flavor. I left out the lemon zest. After simmering for 45 min, I tasted the sauce and thought it was very tangy, so I added grated parmesan and romano cheese to the sauce and chicken and continued to simmer for 15 more min - this did the trick! It mellowed the lemon in the sauce and helps to thicken it! This reminded me of some kind of Olive Garden dish. Other changes that I made was that I lightly floured my chicken breasts before browning - this helped to lightly thicken the sauce to a nice consistency while simmering. I will definately make this again with 1/2 the lemon juice next time. I would recommend that you give this a try - the dish has a good flavor and smells lovely while simmering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great taste if you follow the recommendations and only use one lemon. Otherwise, it's far too tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe is good but needs an adjustment to the lemon and sour cream amounts. The recipe calls for 1/2 a cup of lemon juice - as others have recommended I cut that to 1/4 cup and increased the sour cream to 1/2 cup. If you like a nice lemon taste while not overpowering please do this. If you prefer just a hint of lemon in the taste though you're going to want to cut the lemon juice down even further - a good juicy lemon gives you a 1/4 cup so if you prefer just a hint of lemon flavor I'd put in half a lemon's worth of juice which should give you the hint of lemon. I personally liked it with 1/4 cup but I don't think everyone will want the lemon to be that strong in the dish. You won't have to increase the sour cream again if you don't want because the sauce isn't really thick to start with unless you thicken it with cornstarch or flour. I served this with potatoes which was good. If you want to serve with pasta, you'll want to thicken the sauce as it is much too thin even when on the stove for an hour without adding the flour or cornstarch for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Cut back on the lemon, increase the sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. I followed other reviewer's suggestions and reduced the lemon juice to the juice of 1 fresh lemon, so about 1/4 cup. I also added 1 cup of sour cream instead of the 1/4 cup. It was perfect, not too lemony, but with a definite lemon taste and very creamy. We enjoyed it over penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Like some people recommended, I cut the lemon (even though I LOVE lemon), and it turned out wonderful. Still very lemony, but not overpowering. I couldn't get the sauce to thicken on its own, so I added a little cornstarch, and that worked well. I then tossed the sauce with some penne, and served the chicken on top. Very good, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mental jewelry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
My 20 yearold daughter is addicted to this chicken, as a matter of fact I'm making it right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Pretty good. I think it would have been better with less milk in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
decent recipe. I used parsley, oregano, and basil as I am not fond of rosmary or thyme. I also only added 1/4 cup lemon and ommited the lemon zest. I added mushrooms which I sauted in the olive oil and removed before adding onions and added them back in to simmer. I added corn starch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States