Rich Herb and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
YUK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I thought the lemon flavor was good (but we like a strong lemon flavor), however, the sauce never thickened and I wondered how it was ever going to because there was no thickening agent in the recipe. Also, I found the chicken to be a bit dry - I'm thinking this did not have to cook for an hour (especially at this thickness) - 20 minutes would have probably been enough to cook the chicken and thicken the sauce with added corn starch or flour. When you sear chicken at this thickness for 2 minutes on each side, it would not require to be slow cooked for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My roomates and I loved this recipie though I halfed the recipie. I made a couple of changes as others suggested. Nixed the lemon zest and used fresh lemon juice not store bought,and doubled the sour cream it turned out great. I will cut the amount of lemon next time though because it was still a little too much lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Like many others I only used 1/4 cup lemon juice, but we thought the chicken had an odd chewy texture after such a long simmer. I used a light moscoto for a very flavorful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Way too lemony. Cut way back on that and it might be okay. Not too impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Thanks for sharing, this was delicious! Even better the next day. I did take another reviewer's suggestion and added parm cheese and reduced the lemon. I did not use lemon zest or sour cream, but plain FF yogurt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
decent recipe. I used parsley, oregano, and basil as I am not fond of rosmary or thyme. I also only added 1/4 cup lemon and ommited the lemon zest. I added mushrooms which I sauted in the olive oil and removed before adding onions and added them back in to simmer. I added corn starch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe is good but needs an adjustment to the lemon and sour cream amounts. The recipe calls for 1/2 a cup of lemon juice - as others have recommended I cut that to 1/4 cup and increased the sour cream to 1/2 cup. If you like a nice lemon taste while not overpowering please do this. If you prefer just a hint of lemon in the taste though you're going to want to cut the lemon juice down even further - a good juicy lemon gives you a 1/4 cup so if you prefer just a hint of lemon flavor I'd put in half a lemon's worth of juice which should give you the hint of lemon. I personally liked it with 1/4 cup but I don't think everyone will want the lemon to be that strong in the dish. You won't have to increase the sour cream again if you don't want because the sauce isn't really thick to start with unless you thicken it with cornstarch or flour. I served this with potatoes which was good. If you want to serve with pasta, you'll want to thicken the sauce as it is much too thin even when on the stove for an hour without adding the flour or cornstarch for pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great taste if you follow the recommendations and only use one lemon. Otherwise, it's far too tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Like some people recommended, I cut the lemon (even though I LOVE lemon), and it turned out wonderful. Still very lemony, but not overpowering. I couldn't get the sauce to thicken on its own, so I added a little cornstarch, and that worked well. I then tossed the sauce with some penne, and served the chicken on top. Very good, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mental jewelry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Creamy Lemon Chicken

Dinner’s ready in no time when you give yourself a little head start.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States