Rich Dark Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This cake is a lot of work but it is worth it. I cooked it using several loaf pans. It took under 2 hours to bake. I followed the rceipe except I did soak the raisins in 1 1/2 cups of dark rum overnight. Then later I added a 1/2cup rum instead of coffee. My husband said this receipe was better than his mother's! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I made this cake for Christmas... I used Dark Rum instead of fruit juice and made the coffee really strong (used instant coffee). I used maraschino cherries, dried apricots and added walnuts and pecans. It is absolutely delicious. Everyone is enjoying it already. I also used Blackstrap Molasses and a cup of brown sugar instead of 2 cups of white sugar. Excellent... Highly Recommend to Everyone!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a good fruitcake, but it's nothing like I expected. My grandmother made a DARK fruitcake. This one is not very dark at all. I searched my dad's house for her recipe and found a really old cookbook that had a similar recipe to this one. The difference is it calls for 4oz. of dark unsweetened chocolate squares. When I told my dad he remembered her putting bakers chocolate in her cake. Her cake never lasted until new years. The book also used Mace in the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is just like my Mom's, sometimes she would change the fruit. Mom would say just add the dried fruit you like. It was always delicious. My family likes to serve it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
PERFECT!! Soo goood!! A MUST try! I made as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this fruitcake for Christmas last year because my family and I love dark, spicy fruitcakes but noticed too late (after using about $15 worth of ingredients - since I doubled the recipe to make some little ones as gifts) that the amount of cloves it calls for is excessive, at least double what would be adequate. Also, as others discovered, it required at least an hour more baking time than the recipe states, so I put a pan of water on the lower oven rack to keep it from drying out. The texture was fine but the heaping helping of cloves gave it a strong medicinal taste that overpowered the other flavors. My mom likes spicy fruitcakes, too, but she also noticed this. I'm only using two teaspoons of cloves this year instead of the two tablespoons called for and am sure it will come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
this is great moist and rich I iced it using almond flavour I would give more stars if possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
OMG!!! This will win over a fruitcake hater!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Tuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Had a hankering to taste the flavor I remembered from my childhood in the late '50s from an Irish aunt who made fruitcakes and you hit it right on the button. Thanks ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this recipe for Christmas; I gave one of the cakes to my mom, she and my father love it. She gave some to her friends and they all say the cake reminds them of their mother's fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States