Rich Dark Fruitcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My parents have a hallmark fruitcake made in Texas, the memory of which I was working against in making this recipe at my father's request. Given that there are only three of us sharing Christmas, I halved the recipe and took some liberties because of what we had in the kitchen, as well as trying to match the Empress Fruitcake of Yore. I added dried apricots and some withered blueberries, because of what we had on hand, and omitted the sultanas and currents, going heavier on dates. I also substituted pecans for almonds. My father also wanted the taste of burbon so I soaked the raisins in burbon for a few days, drained them well and used the burbon-raisin juice instead of coffee and grape juice. I suggest that you read the recipe carefully for the myriad of steps -- beaten egg whites, beaten egg yolks and the flour mixtures all in separate bowls that converge quite quickly. It makes for a BIG project and heavy clean up. The recipe also calls for three differently sized "Christmas cake" pans, the like of which I've never seen and do not see the reason for -- it's not a stacked cake, after all. I used loaf pans and baked the minimum 2 1/2 hours. I used two layers of greased brown paper but only on the bottom of the pans; after running a sharp knife around the greased edges, the cakes dropped out easily. The next time I make this (and I think I will -- it did, essentially, match that acme of fruitcakes from my childhood) -- I won't chop the fruit and nuts as small as I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This fruitcake is delicious but costs a fortune to make - definitely a once a year item! I soaked dried cranberries in rum (instead of currants) and used half white sugar and half brown sugar - other than that followed recipe. I made a couple of cupcake size ones to taste and the big one is wrapped and in the freezer for the holidays. The cupcakes tasted superb.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Having lost my mother's recipe years ago, I was thrilled to find this one so close in content. With a few changes, I'm back in business. Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
best fruit cake !! I cooked this fruitcake for my sister who is the fruitcake-mania. it will be great taste after ageing 1week. I marrinade dried fruit with bourbon for 3 days and simmer it for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Had a hankering to taste the flavor I remembered from my childhood in the late '50s from an Irish aunt who made fruitcakes and you hit it right on the button. Thanks ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this recipe for Christmas; I gave one of the cakes to my mom, she and my father love it. She gave some to her friends and they all say the cake reminds them of their mother's fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this fruitcake for Christmas last year because my family and I love dark, spicy fruitcakes but noticed too late (after using about $15 worth of ingredients - since I doubled the recipe to make some little ones as gifts) that the amount of cloves it calls for is excessive, at least double what would be adequate. Also, as others discovered, it required at least an hour more baking time than the recipe states, so I put a pan of water on the lower oven rack to keep it from drying out. The texture was fine but the heaping helping of cloves gave it a strong medicinal taste that overpowered the other flavors. My mom likes spicy fruitcakes, too, but she also noticed this. I'm only using two teaspoons of cloves this year instead of the two tablespoons called for and am sure it will come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This is the best fruitcake - ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
OMG!!! This will win over a fruitcake hater!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Tuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
this is great moist and rich I iced it using almond flavour I would give more stars if possible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Christmas Fruitcake

This light, delicious fruitcake features dried, not candied, fruit.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Dark Chocolate Bacon Cupcakes

Discover what the smoky taste of bacon can do for dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States