Rich Cocoa Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
AKA: Granma Mary Lou's Fudge. My mom made this fudge as did her mother and who knows how long it goes back. in the family I remember trying a different homemade soft gooey fudge for the first time and being dissapointed they cooked it wrong BUT come to find out the fudge I grew up on was not the common fudge but this hershey chocolatey grainy fudge that I will always believe is real fudge for myself. I loved it when my granma or mom even overcooked this fudge because it crumbled into a thousand peices but still tasted great and my mom always cooled it too early which means we got spoonfuls of chocolate fudge glop. Anyways here's my tips for this fudge...looks like overall everyone's tips! Tips: 1. When it says DON’T STIR: 4 REALS DON’T STIR (until pot is lukewarm). 2. USE ONLY HERSHEYS COCOA 3. DON’T MAKE IT ON A RAINY OR HUMID DAY 4. SKIM MILK CAN'T BE USED 5. FOLLOW DIRECTIONS TO A "T". 6. IF U MESS IT UP,WHAT’S THE WORST CASE SCENARIO YOU GET TO LICK UP THE LEFTOVERS IN A BOWL WITH A SPOON. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuihalalalala
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
My mother made this recipe for years and it almost always worked for her. She never used a candy thermometer. SKIM MILK CAN'T BE USED. I e-mailed Hershey's and they told me they recommend 2%. Mama used whole milk; there was no such thing as skim milk then. I've had a lot of trouble with this recipe (yet years ago I used to make it perfect every time) but I think my problem is I don't cook it long enough. It looks like it's the soft ball stage, but yet it doesn't set. Today, I recooked it, and it worked great! This is the BEST fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Five stars for taste, of course, but only four because this recipe is so finicky. If you look up some food science fudge pages you'll find that it is the chemistry of fudge that makes it rather tricky. Tips: Put the lid on briefly, to let the steam wash down and remaining sugar crystals. Not too long, or you'll boil it over! Also don't let any remaining intact sugar crystals from high up on your stirring spoon get into your finished product, or you may have the whole recipe turn grainy on you. Sugar "wants" to be sugar. Stirring fudge before cooling, is another way to make it start the chain reaction back to sugar. You can also remelt the whole batch, if it turns back to sugar. It's a tricky recipe, but just delicious, and worth the effort to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Followed recipe exactly. Didn't stir at the end. Don't know what went wrong, it just wouldn't set. Does taste good though, will use as fudge sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Made this recipe it did not set. I live in florida but the humidity would not have had that big of an effect on how it set. I do have to say it makes a great fudge sauce for ice cream. At first I thought there may have been a misprint in the recipe and went to the original source. The recipe is ver-batim. I previously worked in a candy shop where I made fudge and other candies all the time. But the recipies were kept secret; only the owner knew the measurements. I mixed and cooked the ingredients. We used to make around 100 pounds at a time. I am searching for a smaller version of what we made and this recipe looked simular. However it made a gooey mess.(but tasted good) I would recomend this as a topping for ice cream if you follow the recipe. However it is not an "old fashion fudge".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
My husband insisted I make this fudge as his mother used to make it. So I gave it a whirl today, but read the reviews first. Feast or famine. Decided to hedge my bet and added some shaved wax - about 1/4 cup when I added the butter and let it sit. Then after I stirred it with the wooden spoon for a while, I added some chopped pecans. It firmed up beautifully and it was a super huge hit. And yes - it'a a pain and takes forever to get to 234 (about 30 minutes at medium high heat) but worth the effort. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
After the mixed reviews, I had to take the challenge and give it a try. This turned out great. I was a bit disappointed with the quantity, but the taste is exactly what I was looking for...old fashioned fudge! My thermometer never passed 215, so I relied on the cold water test and glad I did. Took about 15-20 minutes after rolling boil. Try it...you'll love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was my first venture with making fudge, and I had a lot of fun. I followed the directions to a "T", and my only problem was that it seemed to be more a gummy consistency on the outer edges, and harder in the middle. Maybe I didn't stir it long enough. Anyway, I brought it to a Christmas party, and everyone LOVED it! It's very rich, though, and one or two pieces is more than enough! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
When I left the mixture on the stove to boil without stirring it burned! What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This was my first atempt at making fudge, I too, had a mother who would made this old fashion kind about 3 times until it turned out right, I remember alot of fudge syrup in the freezer ;) anyways it turned out WONDERFUL. I read all the reviews and the tips were such help. I am guilty of making it with skim milk and toll house cocoa though :I lol, but I must say it turned out just fine, Listen to other people when they say DO NOT STIR!!! I had my temp. turned to about medium low the whole time, just so it was a rolling boil, not to hight and not to low, I also didn't use a thermo but the Ice cold water worked great. and check it here and there, it only took maybe 30 mins at the most so do make sure you check it. it did take a while for it to cool down but that wasn't a problem. Also it was a very humid rainy day and it still set just fine. practice does make perfect. when they say RICH they mean RICH :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States